914 Profiles as of 9.5.17

Recent Announcements

  • "AWA Wrestling" Video The death of Bobby Heenan this past weekend marks the end of an era.  Along with Nick Bockwinkel, Ray Stevens, Mad Dog Vachon, The Crusher and Verne Gagne, Heenan was a key drawing card during the glory days of the AWA.The AWA has been dead for 27 years and while there is still this sad legacy of the company's decline, there is a large amount of footage out there that reveals the aspects of the AWA that are great.  The larger-than-life characters, the entertaining promos and the great matches on the big shows made the AWA into one of the premier promotions of the 1970s.
    Posted Sep 19, 2017, 6:06 PM by Wrestling Scout
  • Dave Meltzer's NWA Championship Point System (1949-1984) In 2011, Dave Meltzer compiled some fascinating data about the NWA Championship between 1949 and 1984.  He created a point system based on number of title shots, number of years in the NWA title mix.  He put together a list of 87 individuals that gives a different perspective.Here are the top fifty and their point totals.Lou Thesz 265 Harley Race  173 Dory Funk Jr. 139 Gene Kiniski 116 Jack Brisco  113 Pat O'Connor  98 Dusty Rhodes  89 Buddy Rogers  69 Johnny Valentine 67 Ric Flair 65 Don Leo Jonathan 54 Terry Funk  50 Whipper Watson 48 Mr. Wrestling II  46 Dick Hutton 45 Dick the Bruiser 44 Pepper Gomez  44 Killer Kowalski  43 Wahoo McDaniel 42 Hans ...
    Posted Sep 5, 2017, 6:16 PM by Wrestling Scout
  • Boxer vs. Wrestler - A Century of Spectacles There has long been a connection between pro-wrestling and boxing. The two combat sports have had both their supporters and their detractors, but the two worlds have cross-bred some amazing spectacles over the years. Many boxers tried their hands at pro-wrestling in some form, the most notable being Primo Carnera and Tony Galento, who were a stars in both.  However, legends like Joe Louis, Max Baer and Jim Jefferies all had a pro-wrestling match or two after their pro boxing careers had ended.                       Joe Louis and Lou TheszThe list of boxers who did appearances as guest referees is even more impressive with legendary fighters like Jack Dempsey, Muhammad Ali, Mike Tyson and Rocky Marciano ...
    Posted Aug 26, 2017, 8:22 PM by Wrestling Scout
  • WWC's Aniversario (1983-1993) In 1983, the World Wrestling Council (WWC) held their first Aniversario show in San Juan.  It was the ten-year anniversary of the Puerto Rican promotion and they put together a supercard and held it in a baseball stadium.  The original show was a September tradition for years before they moved it back to July or August, which has been the case since 1990. 1983 Carlos Colón vs Harley Race (WWC Universal vs. NWA World Title)Mil Máscaras & Dos Caras vs. The Infernos (Tim Tall Tree & Gypsy Joe) Andre the Giant vs. Abdullah the Butcher 1984 Invader #1 vs. Konga the Barbarian (WWC Puerto Rican Championship) Abdullah the Butcher & Carlos Colón vs. Stan Hansen & Bruiser Brody 1985Abdullah the Butcher ...
    Posted Aug 24, 2017, 6:29 PM by Wrestling Scout
  • August 6th is National Sisters' Day Pro-wrestling has been a family business for numerous promotions.  Many pro-wrestling fathers have broken in their sons, many pro-wrestler's wives balanced the books, many pro-wrestler's daughters married pro-wrestlers and on and on.  Curiously, the number of women who worked in the same sport as a sibling (sister or brother) is not as large as one might think.  And the number drops even more when you cut out luchadoras who had unremarkable careers (in Mexico, lucha libre is a particularly family-oriented business!)  There is also the linkage of sisters who are known, but never worked in the business and yet had an impact through marriage.  The prolific family in pro-wrestling, the Welch ...
    Posted Aug 6, 2017, 7:39 PM by Wrestling Scout
Showing posts 1 - 5 of 494. View more »

Interactive Map
of Pro-Wrestling Territories
and Important Venues