Index‎ > ‎

Seven Ancient Wonders

What are the seven Ancient Wonders, and how many remain today?

    1. Pyramid of Khufu
    2. Hanging Gardens of Babylon
    3. Statue of Zeus at Olympia
    4. Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
    5. Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
    6. Colossus of Rhodes
    7. Lighthouse (Pharos) of Alexandria

How many of the seven wonders of the ancient world can still be seen today?

Only one of the seven ancient wonders exists today: the pyramids of Egypt. Nothing remains of the other six: the hanging gardens of Babylon, the statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Colossus of Rhodes, the temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus or the Alexandria lighthouse.

You can visit the "forgotten wonders," which took their name from being left off the first list. These include Angkor Wat in Cambodia, the Aztec Temple in Mexico City, the Coliseum in Rome, the great Wall of China, Machu Picchu in Peru, the Leaning Tower of Pisa, the Parthenon in Athens, Stonehenge in England and the Taj Mahal.