Remember please to consult the society's website before each talk just in case there are last minute changes to the programme. This is rare but is occasionally unavoidable.

There is no prior booking for guest tickets. For details of speakers and venues please consult each individual entry on the 2020 Programme page.   You can email us from this site with your queries and comments, whether about specific events or about membership in general.

Do consult the Announcements Page where news of members' activities, websites and changes are posted. It is updated regularly. 

                                                                                                    Venues in 2020

We are trying out some new venues in 2020 and would welcome your views.  We hope that the larger venues will ease pressure on numbers sometimes experienced in the Town Hall.

St Hugh's Hall, Hensington Road  OX20 1JL

This is a newly opened hall attached to the Catholic Church of St Hugh on Hensington Road.  The location is easy to find, just a few metres down the road from the former library on the same side of the road and next to the cemetery.  The entrance to the Hall is around the side of the Church and cannot be missed. There is parking available.

The Town Hall  OX20 1SL   
In view of the official restrictions on numbers in the Woodstock Town Hall (Fire Regulations) the Committee has decided on a system of preferential entry for members of the WLS up to ten minutes before the start.  Unaccompanied visitors will be admitted in the final ten minutes if there is sufficient seating.  Visitors accompanied by a member may enter with the member.

The purpose is to ensure that members are always able to gain access to any talk they have selected to attend.  So, if you are a current member and wish to be certain of a seat please arrive more than ten minutes beforehand. 

Members and visitors will understand that we really cannot ignore fire regulations as that would pose a public risk, however much we regret the very few occasions when some visitors cannot attend the talk.

The Church of St Mary Magdalene  OX20 1SJ
Our June 2020 talk will be held in the Church.  

Parking in Woodstock

Parking is usually easily available on weekday evenings, both in the town centre and in the free car-park on Hensington Road next to the library.

On Saturday afternoons many visitors come to Woodstock, so do please allow yourself plenty of time to park. Parking spaces can be found on Rectory Lane behind the Bear Hotel; if you use the Bear Hotel overflow car-park please do so only as a lunch customer, otherwise you risk being clamped. There is also parking on the suburban outskirts of the town, for example on the road turning just opposite to the main Blenheim gate just off the Oxford Road to the right coming from Oxford.

Why not arrive extra early in Woodstock in time for lunch at the Museum café or one of many other cafes and pubs nearby rather than being frustrated by the traffic and risking arriving late?

Worth mentioning in this context is the S3 bus from Oxford to Chipping Norton which leaves twice an hour from Bay 8 of the Gloucester Green bus station and stops in several places along the Woodstock Road.  The S7 bus also leaves Oxford twice an hour and comes to Woodstock via Summertown and Kidlington.