WMS-STC Technical Communication Competition 2018-19

Have you or your company produced technical communication products that you think are worthy of awards? Would you like your work to be recognized by your peers? Are you looking for feedback on a project that is under development? This is your invitation to participate in the West Michigan Shores-STC Technical Communication competition. 

Entry Deadline
Entry forms must be submitted by... details coming soon!

Anyone is eligible to submit entries. You do not need to be a member of STC. You may enter work as an individual or as one of multiple contributors.


Entries must:

  • Contain sufficient technical, scientific, medical, or similar content to qualify as technical communication
  • Have been produced or substantially revised within 24 months preceding September 1 of the current year
  • Have been originally prepared for and accepted for publication by a client, employer, or publisher
Entry Categories

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials

How to Submit an Entry
  1. Download and complete an entry form (at the bottom of this page), email the completed entry form to Peggy Frizzo.
  2. Arrange to provide the entry to Peggy Frizzo. Depending on the format and size, the arrangement could be mail, email, DropBox, or other.
  3. Arrange for payment of the entry fee with Peggy Frizzo. Either a check made out to "WMS-STC" or a PayPal payment will be acceptable.
Entry Fees

The fee for entries varies depending on membership status and number of entries submitted per contributor or team:

  • WMS-STC Chapter Members: $50 for the first entry, $25 for additional entries by the same contributor/team
  • STC Members: $100 for the first entry, $75 for additional entries by the same contributor/team
  • Non-members: $100 for the first entry, $75 for additional entries by the same contributor/team

What awards are given?

Three levels of recognition can be awarded. The awards, in descending order:

  • Distinguished

  • Excellence

  • Merit

What do entrants get?
Each entry will be evaluated by three experienced competition judges, who are professional technical communicators. They will each complete a detailed evaluation form, and you will receive copies.

The competition judges will meet with each other, discuss each entry, and decide what award to give. You will receive notification that your entry received an award of Distinguished, Excellence, Merit, or no award. You will receive a certificate of award (PDF).

All award winners will be recognized in at least one STC publication (either web or print). With your permission, entries will be shown to other technical communications professionals (either in a webinar, web link, or in-person meeting).


The 2017-18 regional/chapter competitions are continuing even though the STC International Summit Awards (ISA) level of competition has been suspended. Because there is not an additional expense for us to submit Distinguished award winners to the STC ISA, we are able to lower the price of entries for our chapter competition.
Peggy Frizzo
616-913-7721 (8a - 4p ET, or leave a message any time)
2797 N Saddle Ridge Ct NE, Rockford, MI  49341

Sandy Balkema

Peggy Frizzo,
Sep 11, 2017, 12:58 PM
Peggy Frizzo,
Sep 13, 2017, 5:21 AM
Peggy Frizzo,
Nov 14, 2017, 1:41 PM