Call for Papers

Sharing of security related information is believed to greatly enhance the ability of organizations to defend themselves against sophisticated attacks. If one organization detects a breach the automated sharing of observed security indicators (such as IP addresses, domain names etc.) provide valuable, actionable information to others. Through analyzing shared data it seems possible to get much better insights into emerging attacks. Sharing higher level intelligence about campaigns, threat actors and mitigations is also of great interest. Both in the US and the EU there are major efforts underway to strengthen information sharing.

Yet there are a number of technical and policy challenges to realizing this vision. Which information exactly should be shared? How can privacy and confidentiality be protected? How can we create high-fidelity intelligence from shared data without getting overwhelmed by false positives?
The first Workshop on Information Sharing and Collaborative Security (WISCS 2014) aims to bring together experts and practitioners from academia, industry and government to present innovative research, case studies, and legal and policy issues. Topics of interest for the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  •    Collaborative intrusion detection
  •    Case studies for information sharing
  •    Domain name and IP address blacklisting 
  •    Collaborative approaches to spear‐phishing and DDoS attacks
  •    Data deidentification
  •    Privacy and confidentiality
  •    Cryptographic protocols for collaborative security
  •    Scalability of security analysis on shared data
  •    Ontologies and standards for sharing security data 
  •    Human factors in collaboration
  •    Policy and legal issues
  •    Surveillance issues 
  •    Trust models 
  •    Attacks on information sharing
  •    Economics of security collaboration

Important Dates

Paper submission due:        July 31, 2014  (extended from July 25) 
Author notification:            August 25, 2014
Camera read copies due:     September 7, 2014 
Workshop:                          November 3, 2014 

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Regular submissions should be at most 10 pages in the ACM double-column format including bibliography, but excluding well-marked appendices, and at most 12 pages total. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions should not be anonymized. 

Submissions are to be made to the Easy Chair submission web site at  You will be requested to upload the file of your paper (in PDF format only). Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of July 31, 2014 (extended from July 25) to be considered. Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by August 25, 2014. The camera ready version must be prepared by September 7, 2014 (firm). Proceedings of the workshop will be published by ACM on a CD, available to the workshop attendees. Papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library, with a specific ISBN. Each accepted paper must be presented by an author, who will have to be registered by the early-bird registration deadline.

Steering Committee

Tomas Sander, HP 
Richard Struse, DHS
Moti Yung, Columbia University and Google 

Program Chair

Tomas Sander, HP 

Program Committee 

Matt Bishop, UC Davis
Travis Breaux, Carnegie Mellon University
Sarah Brown, Fox-IT 
Jerry Bryant, Microsoft
Eric Burger, Georgetown University 
Scott Coull, Redjack
Marc Dacier
Freddy Dezeure, CERT-EU
Carol Fung, Virginia Commonwealth University
Panos Kampanikis, CISCO
Florian Kerschbaum, SAP
Susan Landau, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Tom Millar, US CERT 
Kathleen Moriarty, EMC
Eric Osterweil, Verisign
Christos Papadopoulos, Colorado State University
Vern Paxson, UC Berkeley and ICSI
Benny Pinkas, Bar Ilan University 
Phillip Porras, SRI
Ravi Sandhu, UT San Antonio
Stuart Shapiro, MITRE 
Johannes Ullrich, SANS
Paul Vixie, Farsight Security
Bulent Yener, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Please contact the program chair Tomas Sander ( for any questions.