Home of the Winneshiek County Democrats



Decorah Senior Center 

806 River St. 

Decorah IA 52101 

2018 Convention Packet: Information from the Committees: Arrangements, Credentials, Rules & Nominations, Platform, and Request for Accommodations 

More information: Matt Tapscott at TapscottDecorah@gmail.com  

St. Pat's Celebration

Kayla Koether, running in District 55, and Tim Knutson, running in District 51, appeared at the Winn Dems annual St. Patrick’s Day fundraiser on March 18 at Lindonberry Event Center in Decorah. 

St. Pat's Day Speakers

Speaker and Crowd


2018 Precinct Caucuses

2018 Precinct Caucus 1

All eleven Democratic precincts were represented at Precinct Caucuses, some with overflow crowds (See photos), as Winn-Dems begin building neighborhoods (Precincts) that are "Putting People First". Throughout Winneshiek County Democratic preparations have begun for the very important 2018 mid-tern elections this June and November.

2018 Precinct Caucus 2

Putting People First

Over 60 Winneshiek Democrats enjoyed the music of Maritza at the Aug 27th Garden Party. They also heard comments from Supervisors John Beard, Mark Kuhn, and Dean Thompson. 
Maritza is a popular quartet both locally and nationally. Democrats will hear three of the talented musicians playing the melodies of Eastern Europe. Its website describes some of its repertoire as “ twisting rhythmic line dance tunes from Bulgaria, Romania, Macedonia and Greece.”

2017 Nordic Fest Parade
Winn Dems in the 2017 Nordic Fest parade

Putting People First at Burr Oak's Laura Days 2017
Laura Days Parade Entry

It's a parade thing at Laura Days, Burr Oak, Iowa on June 24, 2017
Winn-Dems Putting People First - it's a Policy thing!

Castalia Tractor Days

Winneshiek Democrats marched in the Castalia Tractor Days parade. The new float, pulled by Boyd Wasson, features our message, "Putting People First."  

Watch for us at the Nordic Fest Parade on July

        Winneshiek County Democrats,

            active in the community,

                        PUTTING PEOPLE FIRST! 

Participating in community events (social, political, community) ensures that Winn-Dems have a presence throughout Winneshiek County and NE Iowa. We invite volunteers to join the fun by lending a hand to one or two events. Call or email Matt Tapscott  563 387 7413 or tapscottdecorah@gmail.com

              Join us,


2017 Winneshiek County Caucus

Iowa flag/map
Following the close of the caucus, the new Central Committee members held a brief organizational meeting to elect County officers. Elected were Matt Tapscott, Chairperson; Nathan Thompson, Vice-Chairperson; Boyd Wasson, Treasurer; Carl Haakenstad, Recording Secretary; and Barb Dale, Correspondence Secretary.

New Winneshiek County Committee Members 2017

John Lof, Alex Sekora, and Matt Anderson, all of Luther College; Sonja Sola, Decorah, and Clara Muggli-Toyloy, Freeport, were elected as new Central Committee members.


In support of our constitution, our neighbors and refugees everywhere

Rally for Refugees

Tuesday Jan. 31, 5:30 P.M

Water Street Park (next to the Coop): Moved to Courthouse with 600+ attending

Decorah, Iowa