News‎ > ‎

August Rules Message

posted Aug 12, 2017, 5:19 PM by Sue Jacobson   [ updated Aug 31, 2017, 3:28 PM ]
We have had some questions regarding “Lost Ball” vs. “Ball lost in hazard.” If your ball is lost
anywhere on the golf course that is not marked as a hazard, you only option is to replay the shot with a
one stroke penalty (just as you would play a shot that ended “Out of Bounds”). To clarify, if your tee shot
flies into the woods (and there are no red stakes), you return to the tee and you will be hitting your third
shot. If your tee shot flies into a lateral (red stakes) hazard and you and your competitors are “virtually
certain” that your ball lies in the hazard, you are allowed to proceed under the options defined in Rule 26-
1.

If your tee shot flies into an area lined with white stakes, you are out of bounds and return to the tee to hit
your third shot.

I hope this clarifies this situation for all of you, but please ask for more details if you have any
questions or doubts about how to proceed in any situation on the golf course.

Happy golfing from your Rules Committee!
Comments