2nd Workshop of the Australasian Macroeconomic Society (WAMS) joint with the Laboratory for Aggregate Economic and Finance (LAEF) 2015

The final programs for WAMS and LAEF are now available. Please follow the links on the side bar. 


The Australasian Macroeconomics Workshop (AMW) and the Workshop on Macroeconomic Dynamics (WMD) have joined forces to become the Workshop of the Australasian Macroeconomics Society (WAMS).

The second Workshop Australasian Macroeconomics Society (WAMS), hosted by the UNSW Australia, Business School and School of Economics, Sydney, Australia, welcomes submissions in all areas of macroeconomics.

The workshop has 3 principal purposes. First, it is an opportunity for Australasian macroeconomists to share and discuss their results and ideas with each other, to encourage excellence and collaboration in research in macroeconomics in Australasia. Second, by bringing top international researchers here, the workshop aims to help connect researchers here with top people from around the world in a two-way learning process. Third, by bringing together both theoretical and applied researchers, the workshop aims to foster synergies between and across all modern scientific approaches to macroeconomics.

This year, in collaboration with WAMS, we have the honor to host a one-day event right after WAMS sponsored by the Laboratory for Aggregate Economic and Finance (LAEF) under the direction of Finn Kydland and Peter Rupert the University of California Santa Barbara. The LAEF day will focus on a specific topic to be chosen from the set of submitted papers by Peter Rupert and Greg Kaplan (Princeton U.).

Workshop Program

The WAMS will run on Friday 11 December and Saturday 12 December 2015 with a dinner on Friday night, and LAEF will run Sunday 13 December.

The plenary speakers for the WAMS are:

Professor Randall Wright U of Wisconsin, Madison

Professor George Evans, U of Oregon

Nobel Laureate 2004, Professor Finn Kydland, UCSB and LAEF

Plenary speaker for LAEF:

Professor Peter Rupert, UCSB and LAEF

Please click on the link in the sidebar on the left to access to draft programs and further details regarding the Workshop.

Workshop Venue

The Workshop will be held at the beautiful Crowne Plaza in Coogee Beach, Coogee, New South Wales, Australia. The venue is in the Eastern Suburbs 6km from Sydney CBD. Click on the link in the sidebar for further details and location.

Submission of Papers  (Closed)

Submissions from any area of macroeconomics are welcome. Submissions begin on 10 August 2015. The deadline for submission is the 4 October 2015. Submit completed papers to the following email address: wamslaef2015@gmail.com

When submitting, please indicate whether or not you would be willing to discuss a paper.

Notification of acceptances will take place in the second half of October 2015.


There is no registration fee for this conference, however participants are required to register their attendance for catering organizational purposes. The deadline for registration is 31 October 2015 and registration details are available on the website via the link above. 
If you have any questions regarding registration please contact Benoit Julien at 
benoit.julien@unsw.edu.au with WAMS in the subject.

Organizing Committee


Dr Arpita Chatterjee, Dr Stanley Cho, Dr Scott French, Dr Chris Gibbs, Associate Professor Benoit Julien, Associate Professor Mariano Kulish, Professor James Morley, Associate Professor Glenn Otto, Dr Nalini Prasad


Professor Peter Rupert, Professor Finn Kydland, and Professor Greg Kaplan

Workshop Sponsors

UNSW Australia School of Economics and Business School, Centre for Applied Macroeconomics Analysis (CAMA), Australian National University, Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA), The Treasury, Laboratory for Aggregate Economics and Finance (LAEF), UCSB, USA