NDW group

The Nonlinear Dynamics and Waves (NDW) group was established soon after the creation of the Center of Theoretical and Computational Physics of the University of Lisbon in 2002. Presently the group has two staff members, post- doctoral researchers and post-graduate students.

The main research areas of the NDW group include nonlinear phenomena in condensed atomic gases, including dynamics of matter waves; pattern formations in dissipative nonlinear systems; dynamics of discrete systems, with applications to optics of arrays of nonlinear waveguides; more generally, the theory of nonlinear wave propagation in systems with periodic coefficients. We are also interested in such mathematical questions as existence of solutions, blow-up phenomena, and construction of exact solutions of the nonlinear systems.

More recent topics of interest include nonlinear phenomena that occur when light interacts with gases of multi-level atoms; in the theory of Bose-Einstein condensates of quasi-particles; and in theory of open quantum systems.


Prof. Vladimir Konotop


Dr. Dmitry Zeziulin (since June 2010)

Long-term Visitors

Prof. Fatkhulla Abdullaev. Marie Curie Professor. Stay at CFTC: 10/2009-10/2011

Prof. Alexander B. Schvartsburg. Gulbenkian Professorship. (12/2004-12/2005)

Prof. Anatoly M. Kamchatnov. NATO fellowship (06/2002-01/2003)

Prof. Mario Salerno (March, 2011)

Prof. F. Kh. Abullaev. NATO fellowship (6 months in 2000 and 2001)

Former PhD-students

Frederico Correia Moreira (FCUL, Alban fellowship, co-adviser Solange B. Cavalcanti)

“Optical solitons in inhomogeneous quadratic media”

(Defended 17 of July, 2013)

Helena Antunes da Cruz (FCUL, FCT fellowship)

Winner of the prize “Estímulo à Investigação 2007” awarded by the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian

"Nonlinear dynamics of mixtures of Bose-Einstein condensates in optical lattices"

(Defended, December 30, 2011)

Vladyslav Prutula (Universidade de Castilla La Mancha, Principal advisor Prof. Victor M. Pérez-García)

“Modified nonlinear Schrödinger equations: new results motivated by physical applications”

(Defended April, 2010)

Former Senior researchers

Dr. Alexei Yulin (July 2009-June 2014)

Former post-docs

Chao Hang (April 2008-March 2011)

Winner of the prize “Estímulo à Investigação 2009” awarded by the Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian

Peng-Bin He (November 2009-November 2010)

Zhenya Yan (January 2009 - January 2010)

Yulii Bludov (May 2005-June 2009)

Valeryi A. Brazhnyi (December 2001— May 2008)

Alexandra Spire (September 2000— December 2003)

Francisco Cao (January 2001— September 2001)