Home

                                 Creating the Virtual Learning Commons
Welcome  to those who missed this webinar/workshop series. You can still participate through the various recorded sessions listed in the right hand column.

If you want a certificate of participation, check out the certificate page listed in the sidebar.


Dates:
1st Session: January 14, 21, and Feb. 4, 2013
             Repeat session: January 15, 22, and Feb 5, 2013

Presenter: David V. Loertscher, Professor, San Jose State University and Carol Koechlin, Consultant, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Sponsored by: San Jose State University School of Library and Information Science

Time: 5pm, Pacific; 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern 

Length: 90 min. each workshop session

Objective: To create a collaborative virtual learning commons that replaces the school library website. The site will contain five major  virtual rooms: 
  • The Information Center, 
  • The Literacy Center, 
  • the Knowledge Building Center, 
  • The Experimental Learning Center, and 
  • School Culture. 

We will focus on using Google Sites as the construction tool, but other software can be used. Participants will  construct either a sandbox prototype or a real VLC for their school. Opportunities to collaborate across participants will be the focus.

Session One, Jan. 14 (repeat Jan. 15): Introduction to the concept of the VLC;  Idea session for each of the five virtual "rooms," and dowloading the template to get started.
Session Two: Jan. 21 (repeat Jan. 22): Solving construction woes; further idea development of content,  and creating a collaborative culture
Session Three: Feb. 4 (repeat Feb. 5): A gallery walk of projects, and pushing the concept into operation

Cost:  Free


List of recordings: https://sas.elluminate.com/drtbl?sid=2011274&suid=D.FB796EF1F2919B4C01F0EAA8C12BE2



Take a Peek: You can look at the template that we will use at: https://sites.google.com/site/templatevlc
This Wordle is created with key ideas from your introductions.
Ċ
David loertscher,
Jan 14, 2013, 9:35 AM
Comments