Reviews


  • A Kiss of Promise
    Kindle Edition and Pring

Reviews


5.0 out of 5 stars A Kiss of Promise is a great study in true love vs family loyalty
By Laurie Adamson March 1, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
Violette transports the reader back to another time and place with her vivid writing style. Alaina's difficult choice draws the reader in with heart-wrenching empathy. Being torn between loyalty to her first real love, Martin, and her brother who has always been there for her but now needs her takes the reader on a roller coaster ride that pits true love against family loyalty. Even though this is set in another time period,it still brings to mind the question for readers, "What would YOU do if you were faced with having to make this kind of choice?" Is a kiss by any other name still a promise?, October 2, 2014
By 
Ms. Ali Cat
This review is from: A Kiss of Promise (Kindle Edition)

This novel is very 'Jane Austen-ish' meets 'Agatha Christie' with a wink at some Historic New Englander appreciation.  The deeper, darker element of a sinister goings on and players in the background, mixed with compulsion, greed, manipulation and mayhem, have many themes based in the novels of Agatha Christie. We didn't have a mysterious whodun'it? but the components that give Agatha Christie novels the element of suspicion is exactly those that Elaine Violette has used in this novel with her second villain, Phillip. I really recommend the books of those classy,classic, literaries if you want to see where the origins of something like this may come from. (This review was written for my blog All The Things Inbetween at AlltheThingsInbetween-dot-net)

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great Summer Read
ByShirley G. Webbon April 28, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
The protagonist in this sequel to Regal Rewards (Elaine Violette's first book), the unselfish Alaina, is the reason I loved A Kiss of Promise.The character's voice rings clear and you cheer for her. You feel what the character was feeling from the first page. This is a poignant love story mixed with insurmountable difficulties drawing the reader in and keeping you there until the satisfying ending.
Violette's description of those aboard the month long boat trip from Liverpool to Boston engaged all my five senses, from her description of the gruff voices of the sailors singing along with the passengers and often the crew, to the smells and sound of the black waves slapping the side of the massive ship.
As I held my Kindle and read, it was as though I passed through the black and white words in front of me to a visual Technicolor world, on the other side of "Alice's Looking Glass."
Here is one example of this author's talented and sensuous narrative in A Kiss of Promise.
'The cacophony of sounds mixed with the smells of the sea created an atmosphere so overwhelming she found herself immersed in the newness,afraid, exhilarated, awed, all her senses alert - aware that she was leaving all that she loved, perhaps for the last time.... Her thoughts reeled as she held more tightly to the railing while the boat rocked and the chanting and stamping continued."

The amount of research needed to write this novel must have been daunting. From the trade between China and America to placate the elite of Boston's appetite for tea, porcelain , silk, and cotton from China, to the underground exchange of opium to the Chinese.
The tension in this novel, and the sweet love story is the perfect gratifying mix for your summer reading.Although I warn you it may take precedence over other vacation activities.

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved A Kiss of Promise
ByMelina Glason June 14, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I love books that I can't put down and this was one of them. I wasalready a fan of Elaine Violette's books, having read three of them now. This one was about the younger Blackstone brother that she introducedin her earlier book, Regal Reward. In that book, the main character wasthe older Blackstone brother. The two brothers' ordeal was memorable and riveting. When I read that A Kiss of Promise was the younger brother'sstory, I couldn't wait to read it. In this book, Martin is trying tofind his own way after an horrendous childhood that's left him unwilling to commit to a relationship with Alaina. Alaina who has her ownemotional upheavals is heartbroken when he leaves her behind to travelsto America. He never suspects that a greedy scoundrel is blackmailingher. Her settings are always so interesting. In this book, thecharacters travel from England's high society to a ship voyage, to thestreets of Boston and even a house of ill repute. I love the way herplots take twists and turns and the lovers must deal with inner andouter issues before they can get together. I wish she'd hurry and putout another book!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
ByAngela Arnott on April 30, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
Great book could not put it down. This second book was just as good as the first, I recommend this book.

  • A Convenient Pretense
    Kindle Edition and Print


1.
Captivating Regency with an Unusual Heroine November 26, 2013
There are many intelligent heroines in Regency novels. Emily, the heroine in 'A Convenient Pretense,' is both intelligent, well-read, beautiful and a poet. Her poems reflect her mood and explore her feelings and desires - emotions she has fiercely suppressed due to her mother's dire warnings about the misery of marriage for women. Being sensitive and caring, Emily has observed the impact of marriage on the parents before her...Read More
There are many intelligent heroines in Regency novels. Emily, the heroine in 'A Convenient Pretense,' is both intelligent, well-read, beautiful and a poet. Her poems reflect her mood and explore her feelings and desires - emotions she has fiercely suppressed due to her mother's dire warnings about the misery of marriage for women. Being sensitive and caring, Emily has observed the impact of marriage on the parents before her mother's death and what she has seen makes her reluctant to give up what little independence she has in order to marry. Yet in Regency England, marriage was seen as the only goal for young women. When Emily is forced to ensure a season in London, how can she avoid the trap of wedlock and return to he beloved home and father?

Marcus, the hero, is also in no hurry to marry, although he is aware that he must have an heir for his Earldom. His parents were unsuited and he vows not to open himself up to the hurt of love.

These two, so similar in their bold, headstrong, stubborn natures and their determination not to fall under any yoke of matrimony, meet and decide to help each other. To keep off other suitors, they will pretend to have feelings for one another.

The complications arise when, as Emily and Marcus begin to spend time with one another and learn to know each other, their pretense becomes real.

Written in a lovely, flowing style, with a warm, compassionate eye, 'A Convenient Pretense' is perfectly paced. We see Marcus and Emily fighting their growing attraction to each other and joining together to thwart an evil injustice. There is romance, excitement, intrigue and mystery deftly threaded through the novel and the ending is wonderfully apt and tender.Show Less

2.
Great Reading August 30, 2013
Are Emily and Marcus only fooling themselves?

Emily and Marcus both want to avoid marriage at all costs. However, Emily's father practically orders her to attend the Season in London, and Marcus has an aunt who solemnly believes that it is her duty to find him a suitable wife. Emily immediately perceives that Marcus is just as uncomfortable as she is. When she boldly suggests the pretense, she is delighted when he...Read More
Are Emily and Marcus only fooling themselves?

Emily and Marcus both want to avoid marriage at all costs. However, Emily's father practically orders her to attend the Season in London, and Marcus has an aunt who solemnly believes that it is her duty to find him a suitable wife. Emily immediately perceives that Marcus is just as uncomfortable as she is. When she boldly suggests the pretense, she is delighted when he agrees. From the moment Emily and Marcus begin spending time together, it is very clear that they have excellent chemistry. I realized long before they did that their pretense worked too well.

Emily has a beautiful spirit and a real talent for poetry. Her passion for her art is admirable, and I really enjoyed reading her poems that were sprinkled throughout the book. I did find it interesting that the majority of her poems were about romantic love, especially since she had no intention of entering into a relationship, or at least a relationship that would lead to marriage.

Marcus and Emily's scarred pasts are the chief obstacles to their happy ending. Both have very distorted images of what marriage will be like. It is shocking how cynical they are at such an early age. Though they were both adamantly against marriage, they had very different experiences that led them to reach the same conclusion. Marcus believes loving a woman could literally be the death of him. Emily's mother filled her head with bitter ravings that were extremely skewed. Emily and Marcus are both deeply wounded, but what makes the situation even sadder is that they don't know the entire truth behind the circumstances that have made marriage so unappealing. Will they have the courage to face the truth and finally open their hearts, or will their stubbornness cost them everything?

In addition to figuring out her relationship with Marcus, Emily also finds herself faced with a desperate situation once she returns home. I thought it was very easy to figure out what had been going on at the Hughes estate during Emily's absence, but I enjoyed watching Emily and Marcus try to piece everything together. Ms. Violette did an excellent job of building the suspense, and I found myself racing through the last part of the book. Even though I thought I knew how certain events would turn out, Ms. Violette threw in a couple surprises that led to a very satisfying conclusion.

Reading A Convenient Pretense was truly a joy. The pacing was excellent, and watching Emily and Marcus slowly change their views on love and marriage was a pleasure. Fans of historical romance and poetry would do well to pick up a copy today.

Originally posted at Long and Short ReviewsShow Less
3.
A page-turning read May 15, 2013
Reading novels set in the Victorian age have always frustrated me because back then women were perceived (and treated)by men as chattel. Yet, with A Convenient Pretense I found myself cheering on Emily in her struggles to live her life her way. Elaine Violette presents us with strong characters that go against the grain, as well as an accurate rendition of the strict mores of the era. In it, a feisty heroine who wants to be...Read More
Reading novels set in the Victorian age have always frustrated me because back then women were perceived (and treated)by men as chattel. Yet, with A Convenient Pretense I found myself cheering on Emily in her struggles to live her life her way. Elaine Violette presents us with strong characters that go against the grain, as well as an accurate rendition of the strict mores of the era. In it, a feisty heroine who wants to be a poet instead of a wife and a noble earl who sees marriage as a future duty, scheme to avoid the influx of eligible men and women presented to them by pretending to court each other. Laced with original love poems, this beautifully written romance kept me riveted with the cat and mouse play between Emily and the Earl as they fight off admitting they love each other. Emily's father's serious illness coupled with an obnoxious cousin (the only male heir) who moves into her family home with plans to take over their estate adds drama and suspense to the story, making A Convenient Pretense a page-turning read.Show Less
4.
1 of 1 people found the following helpful

An enjoyable read April 21, 2013
This is the first book I have read out of the Blush Collection from Ellora's Cave. It was very good story and I will read other in the collection also.

Emily has no use for the games played during the London Season and has no desire to secure a husband. After being ordered by her father to go anyway and at least try to get a husband she comes up with a plan to ward any potential suitors away. Marcus is tired of the...Read More
This is the first book I have read out of the Blush Collection from Ellora's Cave. It was very good story and I will read other in the collection also.

Emily has no use for the games played during the London Season and has no desire to secure a husband. After being ordered by her father to go anyway and at least try to get a husband she comes up with a plan to ward any potential suitors away. Marcus is tired of the matchmaking attempts by his aunt and doesn't want to be saddled with a wife so he agrees to the pretense Emily proposes. Little did they know it might work to well.

This story has romance, but it also has humor and mystery in it. I found the story to be fun as well as funny at times and the mystery was a little predictable for me but still plenty enjoyable. There was a few twists and turns to the story that I did not see coming. As far as the romance goes it is very light on the kissing. I think only once or twice in the story. I would have liked to see just a little more however kissing in it.

The characters and the setting was very detailed and well thought out. I would read other stories by this author also. I enjoy reading Regency Romances.

*I received book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.*Show Less

5.
1 of 1 people found the following helpful
A wonderful read. April 19, 2013
A beautifully written book that enthralls the mind through out. Captivating though the end, a wonderful tale for all to read. Well done.

6.

1 of 1 people found the following helpful
A delight to read April 14, 2013
Review of A Convenient Pretense
A Convenient Pretense is firstly, an enchanting, bright, charming, well-plotted, and deeply moving sweet-romance novel. Readers will immediately fall in love with the characters: Emily and Marcus, who star in this character-driven story.
In most ordinary and category romance novels, the internal problem comes from the hero or heroine. You can be certain Elaine Violette didn't intend...Read More
Review of A Convenient Pretense
A Convenient Pretense is firstly, an enchanting, bright, charming, well-plotted, and deeply moving sweet-romance novel. Readers will immediately fall in love with the characters: Emily and Marcus, who star in this character-driven story.
In most ordinary and category romance novels, the internal problem comes from the hero or heroine. You can be certain Elaine Violette didn't intend A Convenient Pretense ordinary when she decided the male and the female both are hesitant to embrace true love, and with good cause. As you would expect, with these and other difficulties to surmount, Violette gives us an entertaining, highly satisfying novel that is a pure delight to read.
In order to keep her fans of Regal Reward, her first Regency romance, at attention as well as to attract readers of other genres, she carefully weaves into this beautifully written love story: mystery, suspense, lies, deceit, and attempted murder. The words chosen by this talented writer will force your mind to imagine: to hear the words and understand their richness, and to see the milieu, faces, and activities those words describe.
This fast paced, charming debut sparkling with witty dialogue and engaging characters make the talented author, Elaine Violette, slotted for stardom.
Note: I just saw the cover for Violette's next novel, A Kiss of Promise, my Kindle Fire is all excited.



Regal Reward
3 Editions

 


7.
Captivated! February 10, 2010
This book was amazingly captivating. I had an extremely difficult time putting it down once I started to read it. REGAL REWARD combines both romance and mystery to make a most interesting book to read. It awed me at how well Ms. Violette kept the complexity of the two families so intriguing and exciting.

8.
Pleasantly Surprised December 2, 2009
At first I was hesitant when I picked up this book, as I typically only read science fiction and fantasy. However, after the first couple pages I was hooked on the storyline--I wanted to know what was going to happen to the main character, Marielle, after she was kidnapped. As I read, the story developed beyond my expectations, and before I knew it, I was more than half way through! Great story. Looking forward to the next...Read More
At first I was hesitant when I picked up this book, as I typically only read science fiction and fantasy. However, after the first couple pages I was hooked on the storyline--I wanted to know what was going to happen to the main character, Marielle, after she was kidnapped. As I read, the story developed beyond my expectations, and before I knew it, I was more than half way through! Great story. Looking forward to the next book...

[...].Show Less
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Flower Regal Reward 
 
 
  
 Flower
FlowerFlowerFlowerFlower 
The Romance Readers Connection
 
 
 
 
 

REGAL REWARD is a sweet historical romance… This novel follows many twists and turns as 

the revenge scheme goes awry, deepens, and eventually brings closure to all involved… The main characters are truly enjoyable as 

they come to life thanks to being described not so much with an eye 

to their physical characteristics, as much as their personalities and inner thoughts. Furthermore secondary characters add to this story and set the author up to tell additional stories related to these families.


Novel Spot

It's been ages since I read a historical 
romance, you know the kind where the 
women have wardrobes that take sixteen trunks to hold it all and the men ride horses everywhere and carry handkerchiefs? 
Regal Reward is that kind of romance.

Too often I find that this type of romance 

lacks the spark that keeps me turning pages, but Elaine Violette provided a little something extra in Regal Reward that kept me coming back for more.

Regal Reward is a satisfying tale, 

providing much more complex characters

than you normally find in this type of 

romance. The women are not weak and helpless, and the men are deliciously flawed.

 A complex plot and a surprising turn of 

events with one of the characters will keep

 you guessing until the end. All in all, it is an enjoyable read.

I definitely recommend you try Regal Reward by Elaine Violette when you're in the mood for a historical romance with a little something extra.


Coffee Time Romance  Four Cups REGAL REWARD

I enjoyed this lively tale; it has all the elements to keep readers entertained from beginning to end. You feel for all those involved, the sins of the fathers indeed falls to the children. I found that this is a very lively cast of characters who know that doing the right thing is better and more fun, in the long run. Regencies show us how people lived around King George and his indiscretions and madness. This is filled with how one man could ruin another completely and set himself up with only a word to a mad monarch. I am so happy to say that this story is entertaining, justice prevails and even a happy ending or two.

 FlowerFlowerFlowerFlowerFlowerFlowerFlowerFlowerFlower

Ecataromance

Regal Reward is a hugely enjoyable traditional Regency romance written in the wonderful tradition of Marion Chesney and Joan Smith.

Regal Reward is a wonderful page-turner laden with plenty of passion, action, adventure and romance. Fans of the genre will definitely add Ms. Violette to their list of favorite writers and they will be eagerly anticipating the next release by this hugely talented writer.

 The Romance Studio
 
 
 
 

This was an incredibly emotional story about one family’s downfall through the unscrupulous actions of another and the ramifications of how those actions affected many people. The Blackstone family had been framed so that not only did the Father spend most of his last years in a horrible imprisonment, but also his children and heir to all his fortune were blackballed by society and forced to steal to survive. The Claymore family was given the esteem, fortune and lands which were stolen from the Blackstones.

Through unplanned circumstances, York Blackstone kidnapped former neighbor Marrielle Henley, the fiancé to the Claymore son. Even though York at first had no knowledge of who she was, he was quick to take advantage of her position in life to extort money from her Father, Lord Henley, and bring the Claymores to their demise. The way York reacted, though arrogant toward his enemy, was expressive when dealing with Marielle. That he thought her unique was evident from the start.

Ms. Elaine Violette was an unknown author to me before reading Regal Reward. This release is a fabulous story with fantastic characters which was impossible to put down! York’s explosive temperament was softened by the sensitive, yet volatile, mannerisms of Marrielle. The sub characters in this book were believable and very supportive.

The myriad of activities definitely add to, not detract from, this amazing book. It has much to offer to its readers and I highly recommend it. I absolutely loved it! This one’s a keeper!

Overall rating

 
 
 

Sensuality Rating: Mildly Sensual.

 
 

 





 Flower A Convenient Pretense


 

    Captivating Regency with an Unusual Heroine, November 26, 2013
   
By
Lindsay Townsend (Yorkshire, UK) -
This review is from: A Convenient Pretense (Kindle Edition)
   
This review is from: A Convenient Pretense (Kindle Edition)

There are many intelligent heroines in Regency novels. Emily, the heroine in 'A Convenient Pretense,' is both intelligent, well-read, beautiful and a poet. Her poems reflect her mood and explore her feelings and desires - emotions she has fiercely suppressed due to her mother's dire warnings about the misery of marriage for women. Being sensitive and caring, Emily has observed the impact of marriage on the parents before her mother's death and what she has seen makes her reluctant to give up what little independence she has in order to marry. Yet in Regency England, marriage was seen as the only goal for young women. When Emily is forced to ensure a season in London, how can she avoid the trap of wedlock and return to he beloved home and father?

 
Marcus, the hero, is also in no hurry to marry, although he is aware that he must have an heir for his Earldom. His parents were unsuited and he vows not to open himself up to the hurt of love.
 
These two, so similar in their bold, headstrong, stubborn natures and their determination not to fall under any yoke of matrimony, meet and decide to help each other. To keep off other suitors, they will pretend to have feelings for one another.
 
The complications arise when, as Emily and Marcus begin to spend time with one another and learn to know each other, their pretense becomes real.
 
Written in a lovely, flowing style, with a warm, compassionate eye, 'A Convenient Pretense' is perfectly paced. We see Marcus and Emily fighting their growing attraction to each other and joining together to thwart an evil injustice. There is romance, excitement, intrigue and mystery deftly threaded through the novel and the ending is wonderfully apt and tender.
 


 Flower
Flower 
Flower 
FlowerFlower 

Review for a Convenient Pretense
 
 A Convenient Pretense is firstly, an enchanting, bright, charming, well-plotted, and deeply moving sweet-romance novel. Readers will immediately fall in love with the characters: Emily and Marcus, who star in this character-driven story.
 

In most ordinary and category romance novels, the internal problem comes from the hero or heroine. You can be certain Elaine Violette didn’t intend A Convenient Pretense ordinary when she decided the male and the female both are hesitant to embrace true love, and with good cause. As you would expect, with these and other difficulties to surmount, Violette gives us an entertaining, highly satisfying novel that is a pure delight to read.

In order to keep her fans of Regal Reward, her first Regency romance, at attention as well as to attract readers of other genres, she carefully weaves into this beautifully written love story: mystery, suspense, lies, deceit, and attempted murder. The words chosen by this talented writer will force your mind to imagine: to hear the words and understand their richness, and to see the milieu, faces, and activities those words describe.

This fast paced, charming debut sparkling with witty dialogue and engaging characters make the talented author, Elaine Violette, slotted for stardom.

Note:  I just saw the cover for Violette’s next novel, A Kiss of Promise, my Kindle Fire is all excited.

Review by Shirley G Webb

Award winning author of children’s books, historical young-adult, and contemporary adult novels.




A Convenient Pretense by Elaine Violette

Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Genre: Historical
Length: Full Length (179 pgs)
Heat Level: Sweet
Rating: 4.5 stars
Reviewed by Poinsettia

Emily Hughes has little patience for the frivolity of the season. Marriage brought out only the worst in her parents and if she has her way, she’ll avoid matrimony altogether. Only the demands of her father are enough to force her to join her aunt in London for the festivities.

Marcus Deming, Earl of Pembridge, refuses to love after watching his father succumb to a broken heart. Marcus will marry, but only for the convenience of producing an heir. Love need have no place in the arrangement.

Emily and Marcus agree to spend the season in each other’s company, fending off the worst of the suitors and their aunts’ schemes. It isn’t until Emily is called home to aid her ailing father that she and Marcus realize their pretense has escalated into something far more intense. So alike, right down to a shared stubborn streak, it’s going to take a common enemy and the ability to admit when they’re wrong for Marcus and Emily to secure the future they suddenly can’t imagine living without.

Are Emily and Marcus only fooling themselves?

Emily and Marcus both want to avoid marriage at all costs. However, Emily’s father practically orders her to attend the Season in London, and Marcus has an aunt who solemnly believes that it is her duty to find him a suitable wife. Emily immediately perceives that Marcus is just as uncomfortable as she is. When she boldly suggests the pretense, she is delighted when he agrees. From the moment Emily and Marcus begin spending time together, it is very clear that they have excellent chemistry. I realized long before they did that their pretense worked too well.

Emily has a beautiful spirit and a real talent for poetry. Her passion for her art is admirable, and I really enjoyed reading her poems that were sprinkled throughout the book. I did find it interesting that the majority of her poems were about romantic love, especially since she had no intention of entering into a relationship, or at least a relationship that would lead to marriage.

Marcus and Emily’s scarred pasts are the chief obstacles to their happy ending. Both have very distorted images of what marriage will be like. It is shocking how cynical they are at such an early age. Though they were both adamantly against marriage, they had very different experiences that led them to reach the same conclusion. Marcus believes loving a woman could literally be the death of him. Emily’s mother filled her head with bitter ravings that were extremely skewed. Emily and Marcus are both deeply wounded, but what makes the situation even sadder is that they don’t know the entire truth behind the circumstances that have made marriage so unappealing. Will they have the courage to face the truth and finally open their hearts, or will their stubbornness cost them everything?

In addition to figuring out her relationship with Marcus, Emily also finds herself faced with a desperate situation once she returns home. I thought it was very easy to figure out what had been going on at the Hughes estate during Emily’s absence, but I enjoyed watching Emily and Marcus try to piece everything together. Ms. Violette did an excellent job of building the suspense, and I found myself racing through the last part of the book. Even though I thought I knew how certain events would turn out, Ms. Violette threw in a couple surprises that led to a very satisfying conclusion.

Reading A Convenient Pretense was truly a joy. The pacing was excellent, and watching Emily and Marcus slowly change their views on love and marriage was a pleasure. Fans of historical romance and poetry would do well to pick up a copy today.