VDHMA Annual Meeting

Midge Harmon, VDHMA Information Officer and a founding member of the association, offers advice to meeting attendees about the Old Dominion Show based on her more than 40 years of experience. Midge and her son Scott operate Harmon's Horsedrawn Carriages and Hayrides.
Year end awards presented, committees established at Annual Meeting

High-point awards and lots of sometimes lively but primarily positive discussion regarding VDHMA programs were the highlights of the  January 23 annual meeting. The event was preceded by a delicious lunch catered by Pepper's Grill of Culpeper Best Western. 

VDHMA President Larry Clark led 81 members in purposeful discussions regarding the direction of VDHMA for 2010. A lot was accomplished, including votes to establish committees for the coming year (Youth Involvement Committee, Volunteer Coordinator, 2010 Old Dominion Show Committee).
Each of these groups now needs two or three persons to carry out the committee's objectives. Please email to offer your help as a 2010 committee member now.

VDHMA President Larry Clark (far right) introduces the 2010 board (from left, Meg Birney, outgoing Treasurer Bonnie Huggins, Bob Brennan, Marshal Cofer, secretary Polly Welch, vice president Everett Haney. Present but not shown: Patti Price.
Minutes of the annual meeting will be posted to this site in the near future.

Special thanks to Mary Haney for donating a beautiful hand-made bolster and pillow embroidered with draft animals for the raffle, and to Polly Welch for finding the antique dinner plate printed with a draft team and wagon for the door prize. Bob Brennan won two of the three prizes!

High-point trophies for the 2009 show season were awarded by President Larry Clark. Winners were:

(right) Marshall Cofer of Triple F Farm not
only wins the perpetual trophy for Same
Team and Teamster working a class at both Southwest Draft Horse Show and Old
Dominion Show, but also Total High
Point Driver for all Driving, Sled,
and Skidding.

Total High Point Mule Teamster: Jeff Wise
(not present)
Dorothy Vallee, Oxford, CT, Equine
Versatility Award (not present)

Paul Tyrrell accepts the Jack Harmon
Memorial Trophy for Sandy Lerner of
Ayreshire Farm in Middleburg, VA.
Award is for Men's Show Cart Class winner.

Roger Manning from North Carolina, High
Total Point Driver or Teamster in Sled and Skidding

Meg Birney, Highest Total Point Draft
Horse Teamster