Committee Members

SCRO Committee Chair:

David Hinton, MD
Gavin S. Herbert Professor of Retinal Research 
Professor of Pathology, Neurological Surgery and Ophthalmology 
DOH 213 Mail Code: 9092 
Telephone: (323) 442-6617 
FAX: (323) 442-6688 
E-Mail: dhinton@usc.edu

SCRO Committee Vice Chair:

Qilong Ying, PhD
Associate Professor, Departments of Cell and Neurobiology, 
and Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Email: qying@usc.edu
Office Phone: 323-442-3308
Lab Phone: 323-442-2261
Fax: 323-442-4040
Office Location: 1425 San Pablo Street, BCC-512
Lab Location: 1425 San Pablo Street, BCC-509

SCRO Administrator:

Michael Cowan, MS
SCRO Administrator
E-mail: michael.cowan@med.usc.edu
Office/Lab Phone: 323-442-7834 
Fax: 323-442-4040
Office/Lab Location: 1425 San Pablo St- BCC 205

Patient Advocate Member: 

Stacy Mercado 
2206 229th St. Unit A
Torrance, CA 90501
Email: 89mercado@gmail.com

Ethics Member: 

Alexander Capron 
University Professor Scott H. Bice Chair in Healthcare Law, 
Policy & Ethics 
Professor of Law and Medicine, Co-Director, Pacific Center for Health Policy and Ethics 
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0071 USA 
Telephone: (213) 740-2557 (phone) 
(213) 740-2548 (assistant, Margaret Miller); (213)
740-2541 (Pacific Center) 
FAX: (213) 740-5502 (fax) 
E-Mail: acapron@law.usc.edu 

Community Member:
 
Julie Marquez 
771 Holmby Avenue 
Los Angeles, CA 90024 
Telephone: (310) 470-3754 
Cell: (310) 889-4445 
E-Mail: nixxmom@aol.com 


Scientific Members:

Qilong Ying, PhD
Associate Professor, Departments of Cell and Neurobiology, 
and Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine
Email: qying@usc.edu
Office Phone: 323-442-3308
Lab Phone: 323-442-2261
Fax: 323-442-4040
Office Location: 1425 San Pablo Street, BCC-512
Lab Location: 1425 San Pablo Street, BCC-509

Wange Lu, PhD
Associate Professor, Departments of Biochemistry, and Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine 
Email: wangelu@usc.edu
Office Phone: 323-442-1618
Lab Phone: 323-442-2497
Office Location: 1425 San Pablo St, BCC 413
Lab Location: 1425 San Pablo St, BCC 409
Fax: 323-442-4040

Richard Paulson, MD 
Professor, Obstetrics/Gynecology 
WCH 8K9 Mail Code: 9032 
Telephone: (323) 226-3026 
FAX: (323) 226-2850 
E-Mail: rpaulson@usc.edu

Paula Cannon, PhD 
Associate Professor, Molecular Microbiology & 
Immunology 
HMR 502A Mail Code: 9094 
Phone: (323) 442-1510 
Fax: (323) 442-1721 
E-Mail: pcannon@usc.edu 

Robert Maxson, PhD
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
NOR 7310 Mail Code:9176 
Telephone: (323) 865-0633 
FAX: (323) 865-0098 
E-Mail: maxson@usc.edu