Useful Web Links

You will find external links to useful health and welfare websites in the list below.  You can "Sort" the list in each of the columns.  For health information resources produced by, or for, the Dachshund Breed Council, look here.  For a list of UK specialists who can help with Dachshund back problems, look here.
Showing 44 items
Disease/Condition/TopicWebsite NameWebsite URLDescription/Comments
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Sort 
 
Disease/Condition/TopicWebsite NameWebsite URLDescription/Comments
Epilepsy Canine Epilepsy http://www.canineepilepsy.co.uk The No. 1 online resource for canine Epilepsy 
Lafora's Disease Canine Epilepsy - Lafora's http://www.canineepilepsy.co.uk/VetRecource/laforadisease.htm Explanation of Lafora's 
Lafora's Disease Clare Rusbridge - Veterinary Neurologist http://www.veterinary-neurologist.co.uk/lafora.htm Clare Rusbridge's Lafora's Page 
cord1 Retinal Degeneration (PRA) Animal Health Trust http://www.aht.org.uk/genetics_dachpra.html cord1 testing for PRA 
Epilepsy Epilepsy Guardian Angels http://www.canine-epilepsy-guardian-angels.com/default.htm Help and support for dogs with Epilepsy 
cord1 Retinal Degeneration (PRA) Molecular Vision http://www.biomedcentral.com/content/pdf/1746-6148-4-23.pdf Research Paper on cord1 PRA age of onset 
crd Retinal Degeneration (PRA) in WHD Biomed Central http://www.biomedcentral.com/content/pdf/1746-6148-4-23.pdf Research Paper on crd PRA in WHD 
Genetics Explained Animal Genetics http://bowlingsite.mcf.com/Genetics/Genetics.html Understanding Genetics - useful articles 
Veterinary Dictionary Pet Education http://www.peteducation.com/dict_alpha_listing.cfm?c=0 Dictionary of Veterinary Terms 
Cushing's Disease Canine Cushings http://www.canine-cushings.co.uk UK site explaining Cushing's 
SARDS / IMR SARDS/IMR Awareness Central http://www.sardsawareness.org/ SARDS and IMR are conditions causing sudden blindness. 
Nutrition and correct weight Pet Size O-Meter http://www.pfma.org.uk/pet-ownership/pet-size-o-meter.htm How to tell if your dog is the correct weight, obese, or under-weight 
Epilepsy Seizures in small animals http://neuro.vetmed.ufl.edu/neuro/seizures/fslide1.htm PowerPoint presentation with explanations of Idiopathic Epilepsy 
Breeding Strategies FCI Paper on Breeding Strategies 2010 http://www.fci.be/uploaded_files/29-2010-annex-en.pdf Guidance on Breeding Strategies from the FCI published in Feb. 2010 
Breeding and Canine Reproduction Dogs in Canada Magazine http://www.dogsincanada.com/breeding Canadian KC magazine website with useful articles for breeders 
Genetics The Canine Diversity Project http://www.canine-genetics.com/ Introduction to the dangers of inbreeding and its impact on genetic diversity 
Inherited disorders in dogs database Inherited disorders in dogs database http://www.upei.ca/~cidd/intro.htm University of PEI, Canada's database of inherited disorders in dogs 
Canine Research Projects in Europe LUPA http://www.eurolupa.org/ LUPA Project: Dog genetics to unravel human diseases 
Inherited diseases in dogs database - Dachshunds Inherited diseases in dogs database http://www.upei.ca/~cidd/breeds/dachshund2.htm David Sargan's (University of Cambridge) database of canine genetic diseases 
Inherited disorders in animals Inherited disorders in animals http://sydney.edu.au/vetscience/lida/dogs/search/breed University of Sydney: List of inherited disorders in animals (LIDA) 
Veterinary Information VetInfo - resource for veterinary information http://www.vetinfo.com/ Use this site to become better informed about the medical problems your pet may have 
DNA Testing Dogs Advisory Council http://dogadvisory.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/veterinary-record-2011-mellersh-10-21.pdf "DNA testing man's best friend" by Dr. Cathryn Mellersh, published in the Veterinary Journal 
IVDD (Back Disease) Dodgers List http://www.dodgerslist.com/ Help and support for dogs with IVDD 
IVDD (Back Disease) Dachshund Club of America http://www.dachshund-dca.org/discbook.html IVDD Handbook - Dachshund Club of America 
IVDD (Back Disease) Dodgers List http://www.dodgerslist.com/literature/IVDDcourse/index.html IVDD Presentation: The essentials of Disc Disease 
IVDD (Back Disease) Breed Council Conference DVD/Video http://www.fenellafleur.com/FENellaFLEUR-TV/DBC/IVDD.htm Bill Oxley's IVDD presentation: Breed Council Conference 2009 
IVDD (Back Disease) Cambridge Vet School http://www.vet.cam.ac.uk/news-and-events/scr/  Call for cases: Spinal cord repair following injury in dogs: a potential new therapy 
IVDD (Back Disease) Universities Federation for Animal Welfare http://www.ufaw.org.uk/intervertebraldicdiseasedachshunds.php IVDD article from UFAW 
IVDD (Back Disease) UC Davis Veterinary Medicine Teaching Hospital http://www.vetmed.ucdavis.edu/vmth/small_animal/neurology/disc_disease.cfm Neurosurgery Fact Sheet 
Lafora's Disease Lafora Dogs Support Group http://www.laforadogs.org Help and support for owners of Dogs with Lafora's Disease 
Eye Testing (BVA/KC/ISDS) BVA Eye Scheme http://www.bva.co.uk/canine_health_schemes/Eye_Scheme.aspx Details of the clinical eye testing scheme and dates of panellist examination sessions 
IVDD (Back Disease) Sunsong IVDD Page http://sunsongdachshunds.wordpress.com/2009/10/13/inter-vertebral-disc-disease-ivdd/ Links to various research papers and other useful IVDD resources 
Lafora's Disease Sunsong Lafora Page http://sunsongdachshunds.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/laforas-disease-in-mwhd/ Links to articles and other Lafora Disease resources 
Diabetes Pet Diabetes (UK) http://www.pet-diabetes.co.uk/diabetes-mellitus-dogs.asp Explanation of Diabetes Mellitus and how it can be managed 
Diabetes Canine Diabetes http://www.caninediabetes.org Help and support for dogs with Diabetes 
Epilepsy Cory's Story http://www.corysstory.com/pdf/Canine-Epilepsy-An-Owners-Guide.pdf An owner's guide to Canine Epilepsy 
IVDD Journal of Heredity http://jhered.oxfordjournals.org/content/102/Suppl_1/S81.full Genome-Wide Association Study in Dachshund: Identification of a Major Locus Affecting Intervertebral Disc Calcification 
Diabetes Diabetes in Dogs http://www.diabetesindogs.net/ Canine Diabetes articles 
Pes Varus (Angular Hock Deformity) Pes Varus - article from DCA Newsletter  http://www.dachshund-dca.org/Media/newsletter%20articles/2011%20Articles/PesVarus.pdf Pes Varus is an orthopaedic disorder also known as "bowlegged syndrome" 
Cancer Canine Cancer http://www.caninecancer.com/index.html Basic information about cancer in dogs 
Alopecia DVM News Magazine http://veterinarynews.dvm360.com/dvm/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=7250 Focal, non-inflammatory alopecia: A diagnostic, treatment challenge 
Alopecia Merck Vet Manual http://www.merckvetmanual.com/mvm/index.jsp?cfile=htm/bc/70109.htm Alopecia - Hair Loss 
Dermatologic WebMD Skin Problems Slideshow Images of some of the most common canine skin problems. 
Epilepsy Veterinary Expert - Fighting Fits http://www.theveterinaryexpert.com/recordings/fighting-fits/ Webinar recording: Everything you need to know about Canine Epilepsy 
Showing 44 items