Awards & Fellowships

Campbell-Connolly Neurotrauma Prize

The  Campbell-Connolly Neurotrauma Prize was introduced in 2009 and is awarded by the Society of British Neurological Surgeons following a generous bequest from Mr Campbell Connolly, retired Barts Neurosurgeon who sadly passed away aged 90 on August 15 2009.  The value of the award is £1500 and will be awarded every two years.

The eligibility criteria for the prize are as follows:

  • Neurosurgeons either in training or recently appointed Consultants under the age of 40
  • Manuscripts should comprise either laboratory or clinical research relevant to either cranial or spinal Neurotrauma
  • The applicants should make a declaration stating that he or she has performed most (i.e. more than 50%) of the work and that such work was mainly undertaken in the UK/Ireland
  • A letter to this effect from the candidate’s Head of Department should be attached
  • Manuscripts may contain research which is unpublished, submitted for publication, in press or published
  • A short curriculum vitae and the letter from the Head of Department is also required. 

The papers will be judged by members of the British Neurotrauma Group and SBNS Academic Committee.

The next prize will be awarded in 2017  and the winner will get an opportunity to present their paper at an SBNS Meeting. The deadline for submission will be announced nearer the time by the SBNS.

Previous winners


Mr S Harrisson from the Academic Department of Military Surgery & Trauma, Royal Centre for Defence Medicine, Defence Science and Technology Laboratories, Porton Down, Salisbury and University Hospitals Southampton NHS Foundation Trust was awarded the paper for his paper entitled: Quantitative assessment of the effect of severe traumatic brain injury on markers of CNS injury in human patients. The Prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Southampton in April 2015.


Mr A Ahmed, from the University of Southampton, was awarded the prize for his paper entitled: Stem cell activation following traumatic brain injury. The Prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Sheffield in May 2013.


Mr I Timofeev, from Addenbrooke's Hospital & Cambridge University, was awarded the prize for his paper entitled: Cerebral extracellular chemistry and outcome following traumatic brain injury: a microdialysis study of 223 patients.  The Prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Bristol in  March 2011 by Sir Graham Teasdale.


Mr M Tisdall, from the National Hospital of Neurology and Neurosurgery, was awarded the prize for his paper entitled: Normobaric hyperoxia increases cerebral aerobic metabolism after traumatic brain injury. The prize was presented at the SBNS  Spring Meeting in Birmingham in April 2009 by Mr Campbell Connolly.