Pictured Above from Left to Right
Front Row: Jen Rowan, Virginia Buglio, Deidre Rush, Michael Moss, Marelet Kirda, Jacquie Berger, Yair Rodriguez, Agnes Kawalec, and Bill Bike.

The Academic Professional Advisory Committee (APAC) of the University of Illinois at Chicago is an elected body whose function, as defined by University of Illinois Board of Trustees Statutes Article II, Section 5, is to provide for the orderly voicing of suggestions for the good of the University, afford added recourse for the consideration of grievances, and furnish a channel for direct and concerted communication between the Academic Professional (AP) staff and the administrative officers of the University, its colleges, schools, institutes, divisions, and other administrative units on matters of interest or concern to the Academic Professional staff or any member of it.

The Academic Professional Advisory Committee (APAC) is a formally recognized committee that represents the more than 4,000 academic professionals on campus. As advisors to the University Administration, we review policy, represent academic professionals on search committees, voice concerns regarding academic professionals to the Chancellor, and play an active role in professional development efforts at UIC.

New APAC Officers Elected

New APAC officers were elected for the 2012-2013 year at APAC’s May meeting.  They are as follows: Michael MossChair; Ahlam Al-Kodmany, Vice Chair; Kathleen Engstrom,Secretary, and Professional Development Chair (committee members Deidre Hall, Yair Rodriguez, and Jeff Alcantar); Virginia Buglio, Treasurer; William S. Bike, Communications Chair; Ahlam Al-Kodmany, CAPE Chair (to take over after this year’s CAPE Award judging); Agnes Kawalec, Building Community Chair (committee members Jennifer Rowan and Jacqueline Berger); Lee Jackson and Colleen Pierson, By-Laws Co-Chairs; Marelet Kirda, Representation Chair (committee member Colleen Piersen); and Jeff Alcantar, Web Chair.

University Professional Personnel Advisory Committee (UPPAC) representatives are Michael Moss, Marelet Kirda, Jacqueline Berger, and Jennifer Rowan.