Location: All sessions will be held in the Shamrock Ballroom (Room 261).  Lunch will be held in the Conrad N. Hilton Ballroom (Room S202).
8:30: Registration and continental breakfast
8:45: Welcome 
  • Mark Clarke, Faculty Senate President and Associate Professor of Health and Human Performance, University of Houston
  • Renu Khator, Chancellor, University of Houston System, and President, University of Houston
9:00:  Energy in Transition
  •  H. David Ramm, Partner, DKRW Energy LLC
9:45: Break
10:00: New Horizons in Traditional Energy 
  • Moderator: Alex Ignatiev, Distinguished University Professor of Physics, Chemistry and Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Houston
  • Janok Bhattacharya, Professor of Geology, Robert Sheriff Professor of Sequence Stratigraphy, Deltaic Systems, University of Houston
  • Christopher Liner, Professor of Geophysics, Reflection Seismology, University of Houston
  • David E. Roberts, Jr., Executive Vice President of Worldwide Upstream Operations, Marathon Oil Corporation
  • Michael Harold, Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, University of Houston
  • Britt Dearman, Manager of Special Projects, Apache Corporation
  • Allan Jacobson, Robert A. Welch Professor of Science, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, and Director, Texas Center for Superconductivity

12:00: Lunch and poster sessions

12:30: Keynote address: David Dewhurst, Lieutenant Governor, State of Texas
1:30: Future Directions in Energy  
  • Moderator: Peter Bishop, Associate Professor, Future Studies , University of Houston
    Innovation in the Power Industry
  • Glen Stancil, Vice President of EV Services, NRG
    Superconductivity and Smart Grid
  • Venkat (Selva) Selvamanickam, M. D. Anderson Chair Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Houston
    Alternative Energy
  • Alex Freundlich, Research Professor of Physics and Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Houston
  • John White, Managing Director of The Wind Alliance
  • Philip Camarata, Design Engineer, Standard Renewable, Division of GridPoint
  • Joe Meppelink, Adjunct Assistant Professor and Director of Applied Research, University of Houston
    Law and Public Policy
  • Jacqueline Weaver, A. A. White Professor of Law, University of Houston
  • Joseph Pratt, Cullen Professor of Business and History, University of Houston
  • Tracy Hester, Director of the Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Center and Visiting Assistant Professor of Law, University of Houston
     Green UH
  • Emily Messa, Assistant Vice President for University Services, University of Houston

3:45: Conclusion

  • John Antel, System Senior Vice Chancellor, University of Houston System, and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, University of Houston