Dr. Santhi Leon talks to Delaware Online The News Journal

posted Apr 20, 2015, 7:25 PM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Dr. Santhi Leon sits down with Delaware Online to talk about how extending sex offender laws may have adverse affects and fall short of the intended goals. Check out the video here!

TaLisa Carter Receives NSF Fellowship

posted Apr 2, 2015, 10:33 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice

TaLisa Carter has been awarded the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship! The NSF Graduate Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions. NSF received OVER 16,000 applications for the 2015 competition, and made 2,000 fellowship award offers. Congratulations TaLisa!

Emily Bonistall Postel named director of the UD ADVANCE Institute

posted Mar 2, 2015, 6:14 PM by Sociology Criminal Justice

As a student government leader for the past several years, Emily Bonistall Postel knows how to navigate the workplace and get things done. As a sociologist, she has a deep understanding of gender and equity issues. Now, Postel is bringing these skills and expertise to her new position as director of the University of Delaware ADVANCE Institute, which is aimed at diversifying and strengthening UD’s faculty.
Read the full story at the link below:

Congratulations to Dr. Barret Michalec! Named one of UD's four Salzburg Fellows!

posted Mar 2, 2015, 6:10 PM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Congrats to Dr. Santhi Leon!

posted Apr 16, 2014, 6:39 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Every year around this time, sociology and criminology graduate students are asked to vote for a faculty member to receive the Jan Burrows Award.


This award is designed to recognize faculty whose work with graduate students has been exceptional, and has made a significant impact on the students' preparation for work in the field of sociology or criminal justice. Recipients of the Jan Burrows Award demonstrate excellence in excellent classroom teaching, outstanding contributions to the enrichment of student education, guidance and development of students teaching skills, and maintain strong mentoring relationships with students.


Please join us in congratulating Dr. Chrysanthi Leon as the 2014 Jan Burrows Award recipient. Don’t forget to come out and celebrate this wonderful accomplishment along with many others during the annual AKD banquet help on April 28th.

Congrats to Our Outstanding Graduate Students!!

posted Apr 16, 2014, 6:29 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice   [ updated Apr 16, 2014, 6:34 AM ]

Congratulations to this year's (two!) Scarpitti Award winners, Kristen Hefner and John Brent. Bravo! Well-deserved!

Each year, the Graduate Policy Committee selects the student who will be presented with the Frank R. Scarpitti Graduate Student Award based on nominations from faculty and scientists in the department and at the Center for Drug and Alcohol Studies and Disaster Research Center. The Frank R. Scarpitti Graduate Student Award was created in 2006 through a generous donation made by Frank and Ellen Scarpitti. Frank’s reputation as a leading scholar in the fields of Sociology and Criminology is matched by his excellence in teaching as well as service to the department, the University, the discipline, and the community. He has mentored scores of graduate students who have gone on to make significant contributions in Sociology and Criminology. This award highlights Frank’s accomplishments and demonstrates our commitment to recognizing the excellence of our graduate students. Nominees should be outstanding scholars and department citizens with a demonstrated record of excellence. Nominees should be advanced Ph.D. candidates who have defended their proposals. Priority will be given to students with a year left in the program. The committee makes its selection based on the following criteria: Progress toward degree; Scholarly activity; Professional development; and, Departmental and University citizenship. The awards will be presented at the annual AKD banquet. 

Dana Alvare and Kristen Hefner were selected to attend the Law & Society Association's 2014 Graduate Student Workshop in May in Minneapolis! The Workshop brings together an exciting group of approximately 30 graduate students, faculty members and organizers who have widely varying interests in law and society and diverse disciplinary backgrounds. The program includes meetings of the whole group as well as small group discussions and opportunities to socialize; the workshop immediately precedes the Annual Meeting of the Law and Society Association.

Aneesa Baboola and Bri VanArsdale were selected to attend the National Science Foundation's workshop, How Can Intimate Partner Violence be Prevented?A Workshop on Developing Effective Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Interventions, in May in Arlington, VA. Only 8 graduate students nationwide  were selected to participate, and they will join approximately 25  scholars from the fields of public health, sociology, law, psychology, and criminology for presentations and discussions.

Emily Bonistall has been selected to receive the Julie Mapes-Wilgen Award in Human Sexuality & Gender Studies. This competitive award is presented annually to honor Dr. Wilgen’s lifelong work and dedication to the field of sexuality education and family studies. It recognizes outstanding achievement by an undergraduate or graduate student who has demonstrated a commitment to the field of human sexuality and gender studies and who has shown an appreciation for diversity and for the betterment of society.

Well done!! Bravo, all!!

Congratulations to Ashley, Dana, and Tom!

posted Apr 9, 2014, 6:10 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Congratulations to Ashley Kilmer, Dana Alvare, and Tom Mowen, each of whom has been awarded a University fellowship! Ashley won the graduate scholars award, Dana won the dissertation fellowship, and Tom won the graduate fellowship. This is great news for them and the department, and wonderful recognition for their outstanding work!

Updated course rotations

posted Aug 19, 2013, 10:25 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Course rotations have just been updated to up to 2016. This is extremely useful for planning what courses you will be taking for different comprehensives. It can be accessed in both the "other resources" section or by clicking this link.

Updating Comprehensive Exam Reading Lists

posted Jun 17, 2013, 8:22 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice   [ updated Oct 11, 2013, 8:20 AM ]

We are currently in the process of updating comprehensive exam reading lists on this site. Thus far the methods, gender, and criminology, theory, and deviance comp should be up to date- the other comp reading lists should be acquired from committee chairs until an update is posted. Note that the department is in the process of updating its comp lists as well, so these will be outdated rather quickly. 

Edit: the updated race reading list is now online as of 7/11/2013
Edit: The updated collective behavior comp list (now called the disasters and the environment comp) is now available as of 10/11/2013

Degree Completions!

posted Jun 17, 2013, 8:19 AM by Sociology Criminal Justice

Congratulations to Dave Lane, PhD, who graduated with his PhD in sociology this year. Congratulations also to Megan Gosse, Laura Adarve, and Samantha Penta, who all walked for their master's degrees just recently!

1-10 of 26