The small print: While every effort is made to present accurate information, the authors make no warranties, and nothing on this website should be taken as a directive.

Welcome Library District Directors and Trustees!
This is our place to share information about the running of library districts in Texas. It is imperative that we protect library districts, and the best way to do that is to make sure that existing districts are strong and the people running them are knowledgeable. This website belongs to all of us, and all are invited to contribute and edit this website.  

Join the Library Districts Discussion Group listserv by sending an email to subscribe-lddg@txla.orgEmail lddg@txla.org to ask questions of other Districts and share information. 

Library Districts differ from other public libraries in that they are stand-alone government agencies that get funding from a portion of sales tax in a geographic area. There are currently 15 library districts in Texas:

Benbrook Library District
Steve Clegg    817-249-6632    1065 Mercedes St, Benbrook, TX 76126
Blanco County North Library District (Johnson City Library)
Maggie Goodman  •  830-868-4469  •  501 Nugent St,  Johnson City, TX 78636 
Blanco County South Library District
Crystal Spybuck  •  830-833-4280  •  1118 Main St, Blanco, TX 78606 
Bulverde Area Rural Library District (Bulverde/Spring Branch Library)
Susan Herr    830-438-4864    131 Bulverde Crossing, Bulverde, TX 78163
Canyon Lake Community Library District (Tye Preston Memorial Library)
Roxanna Deane  •  830-964-3744  •  16311 South Access Rd, Canyon Lake, TX 78133
Dripping Springs Community Library District
Marcia Atilano  •  512-858-7825    501 Sportsplex Dr, Dripping Springs, TX 78620
East Travis Gateway Library District (Elroy Library and Garfield Library)
Jeanne Phipps  •  512-243-1981  13512 FM 81, Del Valle, TX 78617
Forest Hill Library District (Jerline M Harvey Public Library)
William King  •  817-551-5354  •  6962 Forest Hill Dr, Forest Hill, TX 76140-1814
Lake Travis Community Library District
Morgan McMillian   •  512-263-2885  •  1938 Lohmans Crossing, Austin, TX 78734
Liberty Hill Public Library District
Angela Palmer  •  512-778-6400  •  355 Loop 332, Liberty Hill, TX 78642
Salado Public Library District
Jeanie Lively  •  254-947-9191  •  1151 N. Main St, Salado, TX 76571
Timpson Public Library District
Keith Brownlow (Board member)  •  936-254-2966  •  176 Bremond St, Timpson, TX 75975
Wells Branch Community Library District
Donita Ward  •  512-989-3188   •  15001 Wells Port Dr, Austin, TX 78728
Westbank Community Library District (Westbank Library and Laura Bush Library)
Mary Jo Finch  •  512-314-3580  •  1309 Westbank Dr, Austin, TX 78746
Wimberley Village Library District
Carolyn Manning  •  512-847-2188 400 FM 2325, Wimberley, TX 78676

Join the listserv:
The State Library maintains a listserv for sharing information about library districts. It is an open listserv (anyone can join) so it is NOT an avenue for discussing issues, but is instead an avenue for sharing information with people who are involved with and interested in library districts.

To subscribe to the mailing list, send an email to subscribe-lddg@txla.org. Once you are subscribed, you can communicate with everyone on the list by emailing lddg@txla.org.

If you want to discuss particular district issues by email, please use the individual email addresses above.

TLA Discussion Group
Texas Library Association Library District Discussion Group meets twice a year in January and August. The meetings include training on library district issues and when possible, 2.5 hours of PFIA training for treasurers and Investment Officers. Mostly it is attended by library directors, but Trustees and other library employees are very welcome, as are our wonderful representatives from TSLAC (Stacey Malek) and CTLS  (Laurie Mahaffey)! Join the listserv to get information about the meeting dates and locations.

NEXT MEETING:  January 26, Laura Bush Community Library, 9411 Bee Cave Rd, Austin TX, 78733