Hailing from Kingaroy, Australia (best known for its hot, hot weather, deep, red soil and peanut products) Luke began his studies in bassoon at the Australian National University with the sire of many period bassoon specialists, Rick H. McIntyre.

At the young age of 18, Luke started his professional career as a casual with the Canberra Symphony Orchestra performing on modern bassoon and contra-bassoon. Playing an increasingly large role in the music scene of the region, he performed often as part of the annual Canberra International Music Festival, won numerous local competitions for his chamber and solo work, and performed in the Australian Premieres of works by Einojuhani Rautavaara and Elena Kats-Chernin completing his time in the region with a first class honours in modern bassoon.

During his time in Canberra, inspired by the tutelage of Geoffrey Lancaster, Luke became enamoured of the historical performance of music from the baroque, renaissance and classical periods. To explore this obsession, he relocated from Australia to The Hague to study baroque bassoon with Donna Agrell and the dulcian (renaissance bassoon) with Wouter Verschuren.

At the Royal Conservatory of The Hague where he now continues study in the masters programme, Luke is specialising in historical score restoration and furthering his proficiency in the classical bassoon with Donna Agrell, planning to continue to reside happily in the Netherlands despite the weather ;)


Bachelor of Music (Honours)
Australian National University 2007-2010

Bachelor of Music (Early Music)
Royal Conservatory of The Hague 2011-2014

Notable Editions

Médée - Cherubini, Luigi
(Original French Scoring)
For OPERA2DAY Den Haag

Carnaval - Schumann, Robert
Arranged for Wind Quintet

Current Projects

- Restoration of a period arrangement collection from the court of Hohenlohe­​-Öhringen for Harmoniemusik ensemble.
Arrangements include orchestral works and arias from Mozart, Beethoven and Rossini all arranged between 1830 and 1835.

- Public domain release of Jean Françaix's Concerto for Bassoon and Orchestra with edited piano reduction.

© 2014 Juan José Molero Ramos