Rotherham Childcare Champions 2009

Implementing the Early Years Foundation Stage

In March 2009 Todwick Early Years received the the first Rotherham Childcare Champions Award for 'Implimenting the Early Years Foundation Stage'. 

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is to help all children achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well being.

The curriculum is used by all providers registered for under 5’s. It sets the standards for learning, development and care, ensures equality of opportunity, and creates the framework for partnership working between childcare providers and parent/carers. It also aims to improve quality and consistency and lays a secure foundation for future learning.

The learning and development section of EYFS* includes six areas of learning. Practitioners look carefully at children in their care, consider their needs, their interests and their stage of development and use the information from this section to help plan a challenging and enjoyable experience across all the areas of Learning and development.

*We now follow the revised EYFS



Return to Home Page