Organizational Profile

The UPLB Genetics Society, also known as GeneSoc, is a duly recognized academic organization that was established in 1983 and pioneered by 23 Biology and Agriculture majors. Through the years, the organization has strived to promote and create awareness about the science of Genetics in                                          the country (more...)


7-9 K4Health Community Youth
Training Program  
Nampicuan, Nueva Ecija
 10  Visit to Biotechnology Centers
Science City of Munoz, Nueva Ecija
 25  44th UPLB Commencement Exercises
 28  NAST Science Legislative Forum on Folic Acid
Hotel Jen, Manila
18 #FolicAcidPH
The First National Social Media Day for
Folic Acid Awareness (
7th Founding Anniversary of

 03  Opening of Clases
 17 #GenesAndChill Orientation
 241st  BIO30 Tutorials
27-28 K4Health Community Youth
Training Program Nampicuan 2.0

Nampicuan, Nueva Ecija
Opening of PalaCASan 2016
Baker Hall, UP Los Baños
AM: Opening Ceremonies, Cheerdance
PM: Mr and Ms PalaCASan

GenCamp 2017


The UPLB Genetics Society celebrates the exceptional feats of

Prof. Mark Anthony Rabena (Proteome)
BS Biology '08, MS Envi Sci '14
2017 Outstanding Teacher in the 
Biological Sciences (Junior Category)
108th UPLB Foundation Day Anniversary
06 March 2017
Mr. Elton Villa, DMD (Cosmids)
BS BIO '12
for passing the 
January 2017 Dentist Licensure Examinations
Mr. Paul Jhon Diezon (Phagemids)
BS Biology - Cell and Molecular Biology
for being one of the 2016 Ten Outstanding
Jose Rizal Model Students of the Philippines
conferred by the Order of the Knights of Rizal
30 December 2016
Mr. Paul Jhon Diezon (Phagemids) 
2016 CAS Outstanding Student
Top 4 of College Seniors
Mr. Morel Dominic Umipon (Proteasome) 
Top 3 of College Seniors
Ms. Rochelle Sarmiento (Polylinker)
Top 11 of College Seniors
Ms. Rozel Razal (Aptamers) 
Top 4 of College Juniors
Mr. Sean Lemuel Santos (Hybrizyme) 
Top 2 of College Sophomores
44th College of Arts and Sciences
Foundation Day Convocation & 
Awarding Ceremonies
UPLB CAS Auditorium
18 November 2016
Mr. Juan Rodrigo Vera Cruz (Riboprobes)
BS Agriculture '15
for passing the Licensure Examinations for Agriculturists.
Ms. Leslie Ann Del Barrio, MD (Homeobox)
BS Biology '09 cl
for passing the August 2016 Physician Licensure Examinations.
Catherine V. Magante-Ortañez, MD, DPOGS 
(Nucleosome) BS Biology '05 cl
for passing and becoming full diplomate of
the Philippine Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Helen Marie Zell S. Valiña, MD, DPOGS, FPSRM
BS Biology '03
for passing the Philippine Society of
Reproductive Medicine Exam
Ms. Marianne Michelle Q. de la Rosa
Enhancer (BS Bio '13)
MD student, San Beda College of Medicine
for being elected as the
Council Speaker (2016-2017)
Asian Media Students' Association Philippines (AMSA)
Dr. Maria Corazon de Ungria
Honorary Member
for being recognized by Thomson Reuters as
The Philippines' Promising Star 2016
in Molecular Biology and Genetics
2016 Higher Education Research Conference
July 26-27, 2016
Dr. Carmencita D. Padilla, MAHPS
Honorary Member
for being one of Global Genes'
2016 RARE Champions of Hope
Medical Care and Treatment - International Category
Ms. Jaarmy Flor Rebugio, MD (Polygenes)
BS Biology '07
for passing the Philippine Specialty Board of
Internal Medicine (PSBIM)
Ms. Hannah Grace Apondar (Haplotype)
BS MST '15  
for passing the
March 2016 Licensure Examination for Teachers
Secondary Level
Ms. Nyka Noelle Barrientos (Riboprobes) 
BS Biology '15
for qualifying to the
UP College of Medicine
 Class of  2021
Ms. Mia Desiree Azañes-Verdeprado, MSc
(Ribozymes) BS Biology 06 MS Genetics '12
8th Place
for passing and being one of the topnotchers of the 
2016 Real Estate Appraiser's Licensure Examinations.
Ms. April Joy Umali, MD (Regulon)
BS Biology '10
for passing the March 2016 Physician Licensure Examinations.
Prof. Andrew D. Montecillo (Diploid)
BS Biology '07, MS Microbiology '14
2016 Outstanding Teacher in the
Biological Sciences (Junior Category)
107th UPLB Foundation Day Anniversary
04 March 2016
Mr. Edmerson Geronimo (Proteome)
One of the three exam topnotchers
Ms. Jadie Ruth Mabita (Euchromatin)
Ms. Jemaureen Refuerzo (Isoalleles)
for passing the  
Accreditation Exam for Registered Microbiologist
administered by the Philippine Academy of Microbiology
Ms. Carla Fatima Bertulfo (Heteroduplex)
BS Biology '12
Master of Biotechnology
USAID STRIDE (Science, Technology, Research and Innovation Development) Graduate Scholarship Awardee
Pennsylvania State University
Participant to the 2014 Human Resource Development Program in Biotechnology, National Center for 
Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
Pathum Thani, Thailand
March 1 - May 31, 2014
Ms. Donnalyn Biel (Emergenesis)
BS MST '15 (November 2015 LET)
Mr. Ronne Matthews Castillo (Haplotype)
BS MST '14 (March 2015 LET)
for passing the 2015 Licensure Examination for Teachers
Secondary Level
Dr. Rita Laude (Honorary Member)
One of the CAS Service Awardees (Retirees)
43rd College of Arts and Sciences
Foundation Day Convocation &
Awarding Ceremonies
UPLB CAS Auditorium
20 November 2015
Dr. Peter Guzman (Charter)
BSA '86cl, MS '93, PhD (University of Iowa)
2015 College of Agriculture Distinguished Alumnus in Science and Technology (Plant Breeding)
97th Loyalty Day and Alumni Homecoming
9 October 2015

Honor. Excellence. GeneSoc.