Walks in County Tyrone

Tyrone is a landlocked county in the north of Ireland. It is one of nine counties which together comprise the province of Ulster. Tyrone shares land boundaries with five other counties – all of which are also in Ulster (Derry, Armagh, Monaghan, Fermanagh and Donegal). Its boundary with Antrim only occurs in Lough Neagh. The County High Point of Tyrone is on the 678m summit of Sawel Mountain.

Route location map (walk start points):

The map below shows start points for published walking routes in the county (some of the marked walks start in neighbouring Derry and Monaghan). Click a marker on the map for more information.

  View expanded version in Google Maps

Walking guidebooks for County Tyrone:

  Ireland's County High Points - A Walking Guide

  Northern Ireland - A Walking Guide

  Hiking in Ireland

  Walking in Ireland

  Best Irish Walks

  The Mountains of Ireland

Online walking resources for County Tyrone: