Walks in County Monaghan

Monaghan is a landlocked county in the north midlands of Ireland. It is one of nine counties which together comprise the province of Ulster. Monaghan shares boundaries with six other counties – four of which are also in Ulster (CavanFermanaghTyrone and Armagh) and two in Leinster (Louth and Meath). The County High Point of Monaghan is on the 373m summit of Slieve Beagh East Top.

Route location map (walk start points):

The map below shows start points for published walking routes in the county. Click a marker on the map for more information.

  View expanded version in Google Maps

Walking guidebooks for County Monaghan:

  Ireland's County High Points - A Walking Guide

  Walking in Ireland

Online walking resources for County Monaghan:

  Irish Trails