Walks in County Galway

Galway is a coastal county in the west of Ireland. It is one of five counties which together comprise the province of Connacht. Galway shares land boundaries with five other counties – two of which are also in Connacht (Mayo and Roscommon), one in Leinster (Offaly) and two in Munster (Tipperary and Clare). The County High Point of Galway is on the 729m summit of Benbaun.

Route location map (walk start points):

The map below shows start points for published walking routes in the county (some of the marked walks start in neighbouring Roscommon and Clare). Click a marker on the map for more information.

  View expanded version in Google Maps

Walking guidebooks for County Galway:

  Ireland's County High Points - A Walking Guide

  Connemara & Mayo - A Walking Guide

  The Burren & The Aran Islands - A Walking Guide

  Tipperary & Waterford - A Walking Guide

  Hiking in Ireland

  Walking in Ireland

  Best Irish Walks

  West of Ireland Walks

  The Mountains of Ireland

  Irish Coastal Walks

Online walking resources for County Galway:

  Irish Trails