Walks in County Cavan

Cavan is a landlocked county in the north midlands of Ireland. It is one of nine counties which together comprise the province of Ulster. Cavan shares boundaries with six other counties – two of which are also in Ulster (Fermanagh and Monaghan), three in Leinster (Meath, Westmeath and Longford) and one in Connacht (Leitrim). The County High Point of Cavan is on the 665m summit of Cuilcagh.

Route location map (walk start points):

The map below shows start points for published walking routes in the county (some of the marked walks start in neighbouring Fermanagh). Click a marker on the map for more information.

  View expanded version in Google Maps

Walking guidebooks for County Cavan:

  Ireland's County High Points - A Walking Guide

  Northern Ireland - A Walking Guide

  Hiking in Ireland

  Walking in Ireland

  Best Irish Walks

  The Mountains of Ireland

Online walking resources for County Cavan:

  Irish Trails