If you liked Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games,

You might also be interested in these other books:




FICTION:



Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic, 2009)
By winning the annual Hunger Games, District 12 tributes Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark have secured a life of safety and plenty for themselves and their families, but because they won by defying the rules, they unwittingly become the faces of an impending rebellion. This second book of the Hunger Games trilogy is suspenseful, surprising, action-packed, and emotionally rich. And the whopping cliffhanger at the end will leave you immediately wanting to read...


Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic, 2010)
Katniss Everdeen may have made it out of the Hunger Games alive, but she still isn't safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what's worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss's family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. War has finally reached Panem. The Hunger Games trilogy pulls readers in from the start, and this final installment is even more suspenseful, terrifying, and addictive than the first two. You won't be able to put it down.


The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan (Random House, 2009)
Through twists and turns of fate, orphaned Mary seeks knowledge of life, love, and especially what lies beyond her walled village and the surrounding forest, where dwell the Unconsecrated, aggressive flesh-eating people who were once dead. And while this Zombie Apocalypse story is creepy, it's not overly gory. Horror fans, action fans, and romance fans will enjoy this suspenseful book about a girl who knows that there is something else out there besides the small town she grew up in.


The Giver by Lois Lowry (Random House, 1994)
In Jonas's world, there is no war, poverty, or family turmoil, and so no fear, no hardship, no everyday discontent, no long-term terror. But when he is given his lifetime assignment at the Ceremony of Twelve, Jonas becomes the receiver of memories shared by only one other in his community and discovers the truth about the society in which he lives. This classic book is suspenseful, tense, sad, and wonderful, and it will hit you in just the right way. While it takes place in the future, the questions it raises will certainly cause you to want stop and think about the world you live in today.


The Maze Runner by James Dashner (Random House, 2009)
Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with a community of other teenage boys who have lost their memories if he is to escape. The plot of this book is steady and filled with exciting twists and turns, and the main character is interesting and intriguing. This is the first book in a trilogy.


Lord of the Flies by William Golding (Faber and Faber, 1954)
This is a horror story about a group of English schoolboys who, after being cut off from society by a plane wreck onto a deserted island, revert to brutal, primitive tribalism. Readers will immediately be drawn in by relatable characters, humor, action, suspense, and terror.


Graceling by Kristin Cashore (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2008)
In a world where some people are born with extreme and often-feared skills called Graces, Katsa struggles for redemption from her own horrifying Grace, the Grace of killing, and teams up with another young fighter to save their land from a corrupt king. This book has something for everyone--fighting, romance, politics, magic, and some serious girl power.


Forgotten Fire by Adam Bagdasarian (Dorling Kindersley, 2000)
In 1915, Vahan Kenderian's secure life of privilege as the youngest son of a wealthy Armenian family in Turkey is shattered when some family members are whisked away while others are murdered before his eyes. This serious survival story, based on a true story, may be difficult for some readers. But it is a descriptive and emotionally powerful account of important historical events that is well worth the read.


Feed by M.T. Anderson (Candlewick Press, 2002)
In a future where most people have computer implants in their heads to control their environment, a boy named Titus meets Violet, a beautiful, brainy teenage girl who has decided to fight the feed and its omnipresent ability to categorize human thoughts and desires. The story is science-fiction, but the themes are very relevant and thought-provoking for today's world. This book's appeal comes from its characters (who are likable and witty) and the plot (which is imaginative and intense).


Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (Dial, 2010)
Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. To free herself from an upcoming arranged marriage, Claudia, the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, decides to help a young prisoner escape. This story will appeal to fantasy fans, but the realistic, complex characters and the fast-paced plot are enough to hook any reader.


Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (Tom Doherty Associates For Teen, 2008)
After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right. The narrator is self-aware and witty, and the politics and technology will especially appeal to some readers. This book is fast-paced and impossible to put down.


The God of Animals by Aryn Kyle (Simon and Schuster, 2007)
Alice Winston is torn between selfishness and loyalty as she dreams of escaping her duty-filled life, where she bears the brunt of her family's troubles -- a depressed, bed-ridden mother, a reticent, overworked father, and a rundown horse ranch. This inspiring coming-of-age story deals with realistic issues that are important to readers, including family loyalty, death, financial problems, and depression.


Gone by Michael Grant (HarperCollins, 2008)
In the blink of an eye, everyone except for the young disappears. No teachers, no cops, no doctors, no parents. There is no way to get help. It is now a battle between the remaining town residents and the students from a local private school, as well as those who have "The Power" and are able to perform supernatural feats and those who do not. This exciting (and unnerving) book is fast-paced and filled with twists and turns, and there are many elements that readers can relate to, including peer pressure, autism, bulimia, and divided families.


"The Lottery" by Shirley Jackson (Avon, 1949)
Every year, In a small village of about 300 residents, the locals are in a strange and nervous mood on June 27th. Children gather up stones as the adult townsfolk assemble for their annual lottery that is practiced to ensure a good harvest. At less than twenty pages long, this short story is a shocking and powerful read with a very surprising ending.


Epic by Conor Kostick (Penguin, 2007)
On New Earth, a world based on a video role-playing game, fourteen-year-old Erik persuades his friends to aid him in some unusual gambits in order to save Erik's father from exile and safeguard the futures of each of their families. The action in this story never stops, and it's a perfect read for any gamer.


Unwind by Neal Shusterman (Simon and Schuster, 2007)
In a future world where those between the ages of thirteen and eighteen can have their lives "unwound" and their body parts harvested for use by others, three teens go to extreme lengths to uphold their beliefs--and, perhaps, save their own lives. The main characters are relatable, the premise is compelling, and this book is just horrifying, disturbing, and disgusting enough that you won't be able to put it down!


Battle Royale (2nd ed.) by Koushun Tokami (Viz Media LLC, 2009)
A nightmare scenario: a class of junior high school students is taken to a deserted island where, as part of a ruthless authoritarian program, they are provided arms and forced to kill until only one survivor is left standing. Terrifying, suspenseful, and compelling, this book will present readers with a chilling moral dilemma: "What would I do in this situation?" There is also a manga version of this book.




NON-FICTION:


On October 12, 1972, a plane carrying a team of young rugby players crashed into the remote, snow-peaked Andes, and for ten excruciating weeks the survivors suffered deprivations beyond imagining, confronting nature head-on at its most furious and inhospitable. The characters are real. The events are real. The elements of survival, desperation, and emotion make this true story a powerful and unforgettable read.


Between a Rock and a Hard Place by Aron Ralston (Simon and Schuster, 2005)
Aron Ralston, a twenty-seven-year-old mountaineer and outdoorsman, was climbing down off a wedged boulder when the rock suddenly, and terrifyingly, came loose. Before he could get out of the way, the falling stone pinned his right hand and wrist against the canyon wall. And so began six days of hell for Aron Ralston. The detail and suspense bring this book alive, and readers will find themselves asking, "How far would I go to survive?"


In February 1979, eleven-year-old competitive skier Norman Ollestad was the only survivor of a plane crash into the San Gabriel mountains, and he had to descend the treacherous, icy mountain alone. The courage, love, and endurance in this true story are inspiring, and the elements of death and survival against the elements make this memoir anything but boring.


A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah (Macmillan, 2007)
In the more than fifty conflicts going on worldwide, it is estimated that there are some 300,000 child soldiers. Ishmael Beah used to be one of them. This powerful and compelling memoir paints a picture of life through the eyes of a child soldier, and it will cause readers to stop and consider how a person becomes a killer.


Media critic Jennifer L. Pozner deconstructs reality TV’s twisted fairytales to demonstrate that far from being simple “guilty pleasures,” these programs are actually guilty of significantly affecting the intellectual and political development of this generation’s young viewers. This is an important and thought-provoking read about reality TV, and it will appeal to conscientious young people, whether they are reality TV fans or not.


Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti (Scholastic, 2005)
The book contains the voices of both former Hitler Youth members and young people who resisted the powerful Nazi movement, as well as accounts from Jewish youths and others who were senselessly and brutally targeted by the Third Reich. This is a powerful and unique perspective on the Holocaust and WWII, and the choices that these average children were forced to make will interest readers and cause them to ask, "What would I have done in that situation?"


Comments