James Hansen, the world's leading authority on global warming, recommends Footprint

posted Jul 19, 2010, 12:20 PM by Suzanne Olsen   [ updated Jul 19, 2010, 3:02 PM ]

"Students, parents, community leaders and corporate presidents will enjoy the personal perspective of John Patterson in Footprint. It's an easy-to-read guide to global warming and what you can do to stop climate change before it's too late."

James E. Hansen is the director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, an adjunct professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University and at Columbia’s Earth Institute. He is frequently called to testify before Congress on climate issues.

Do You Have a Footprint?

posted Jun 10, 2010, 9:06 PM by Suzanne Olsen   [ updated Jun 10, 2010, 9:11 PM ]

Review by Ron "Mac" McDowell, (June 9, 2010):

In Chapter 10 of his new book, FOOTPRINT, author John H. Patterson asks the question …“How do we convert a third of a billion people, young and old, from energy oblivion to energy awareness?”  Good question!  I’ve often pondered this myself.  In this chapter, entitled Energy Awareness, Attitude, and Philosophy, Patterson provides an answer to this and other relevant questions related to how we can and must reduce our collective carbon footprint. 

I must say, reading this book gives me hope for the future.

FOOTPRINT - by John H. Patterson

Although FOOTPRINT takes on a serious and controversial subject – the complexities of global warming and how increasing carbon dioxide levels in our atmosphere is directly affecting climate stability – I found the book written in a way most people will appreciate and understand.  It is informative, but also introspective and entertaining.  Patterson uses familiar analogies and writes about his journey towards lowering his personal carbon footprint, while offering advice and guidance for the reader to do the same.  

Unlike Thomas Friedman (Hot, Flat & Crowded) and others who have approached this topic with a political or a scientific solution, Patterson focuses on the individual’s role as an energy consumer.  Throughout the book he cites numerous energy saving tips which demonstrate how Americans can reduce our personal carbon footprint by at least 50% regardless of where we live and how.  

I was impressed by how he presented this material and supported his message without being preachy or holier-than-thou.  The book ends on a hopeful note, with strong connection to energy efficiency and the burgeoning renewable energy industry as key contributors to a carbon-reduced future.

I would highly recommend FOOTPRINT for anyone looking for insight and guidance on what they can do to reduce their own carbon footprint. 

Why not follow the leader?! 

Hooray! Here’s a great handbook for those of us who prefer the simple, the practical, and the truth

posted Jun 9, 2010, 5:01 PM by Suzanne Olsen   [ updated Jun 9, 2010, 5:14 PM ]

Review by Gary Munkhoff, Editor, The Green Living Journal:

Hooray! Here’s a great handbook for those of us who prefer the simple, the practical, and the truth, written, not by some theorist, academic, or barnstorming celebrity/politician, but by a person that has been in the trenches for the last 30 years resolutely talking the talk and walking the walk. Patterson’s message, though not new, is clear: if we want to change the outcome of the looming future, we must change ourselves. That he practices what he preaches is clearly demonstrated in his own business that operates out of a large commercial building that he has designed to be a net zero energy user. If you and I could reduce our footprint as much as John Patterson has reduced his the future would be a whole lot rosier. 

Compact, current and relevant... An excellent resource

posted Oct 14, 2009, 11:51 PM by Capital Guitar   [ updated Feb 28, 2010, 9:44 PM ]

Review by Kate Lundin, Environmental Science MBA: 

 FOOTPRINT gives the reader a compact, current and relevant overview of the current global situation in regards to building CO2 levels in our atmosphere and how that is directly affecting our climate stability. By using easy to understand analogies, the writing style allows the reader to follow the author’s personal journey to lowering his personal carbon footprint and empowers the reader to do the same with over a hundred suggestions of energy reducing tips ranging from simple to sincere. Written in a condensed format, fans of Friedman’s Hot, Flat and Crowded, will find this book much easier to pass on and recommend to friends and colleges interested in learning more. 

This book would be an excellent resource in science and math classrooms across the United States since it is written from a very American perspective both figuratively and literally, and keeps the reader engaged.

I would highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a quick and current update on the climate crisis and what they can do to personally help shape our nations and local communities towards taking measures to improve it.

Entertaining and easy to understand... Focuses on the individual’s role

posted Oct 14, 2009, 11:50 PM by Capital Guitar   [ updated Feb 28, 2010, 9:45 PM ]

Review by Richard Taylor, Business Owner, Potomac, MD: 

 FOOTPRINT takes on a serious subject in an entertaining and easy to understand manner.  Opulent cars and cheap energy characterize the energy culture of post World War II America. Global warming, which had quietly begun 200 years earlier with the advent of the industrial revolution, now began to show itself in the disconcerting form of climate change. In the last two decades with China joining the party, the threat has become unsettling enough that world leaders have been meeting to try to come up with an answer.

Whereas Al Gore, James Hansen and others focus on a political or a scientific solution, Footprint focuses on the individual’s role as an energy consumer.  Dozens of energy saving tips, most of which cost little or nothing, demonstrate how Americans can reduce their personal carbon footprint by at least 50% regardless of where and how they live. With charming and captivating illustrations this delightful 260-page journey takes the reader from energy oblivion to energy awareness. The journey ends on a strong note of hope with a glimpse of the renewable energy future that is just around the corner as more and more of us heed the call.

1-5 of 5