The Department of Fine and Performing Arts  The College of Liberal Arts
The Murphy Fine Arts Center- Suite 213, 2201 Argonne Drive, Baltimore MD 21251
TheatreMorganMSU@gmail.com, Facebook-TheatreMorganMSU, Twitter-TheatreMorgan1, 443-885-3625


We are Theatre Morgan of Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland. The theatre department is part of the Fine and Performing Arts Department under the College of Liberal Arts. Theatre Morgan is an integral part of the community. We perform at many Baltimore/D.C. area museums.Our student organizations, the Ira Aldridge Players and Alpha Psi Omega, the national honorary society, participate yearly in the campus Kwanzaa celebration and do workshops and performances at local schools. We are proud to offer school matinees for many of our productions, giving area schools an opportunity to provide students with an enlightening and affordable cultural experience.

Photo credit: John Moore,brownmediainc@msn.com

Theatre Morgan produces plays that are diverse and wide-ranging. Some of our productions include :Pulitzer Prize winner Suzan-Lori Parks’ in the blood, Topdog/Underdog and 365 Days/365 Plays, The world premiere spoken word theatre production of Bridge of Ages,Langston Hughes’ gospel- song play Black Nativity and God’s Trombones ,David Feldshuh’s Miss Evers’ Boys; Robert Harling’s Steel Magnolias,Lorraine Hansberry’s Les Blancs; Twilight: Los Angeles, 1991,Tony Award winning Raisin, the musical!; The Odyssey by Derek Walcott,Ragtime, the musical, Paul Carter Harrison’s The Great MacDaddy and William Shakespeare’s The Merchant of Venice,Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye adapted by Lydia R. Diamond,Zora Neale Hurston’s Spunk adapted by George C. Wolfe,The Colored Museum by George C. Wolfe, The Magic City Massacre by Deletta Gillespie, Crowns by Regina Taylor, Euripides' Medea, August Wilson's Jitney starring Roscoe Orman, for colored girls who have considered suicide when the rainbow was enuf directed by Trazana Beverly, and the Maryland university premiere of the Broadway musical The Color Purple.

We  have been host to several award-winning playwrights for the premiere stage-readings of their plays. We enjoy visits with renowned playwrights and artists such as Morgan graduate and Tony Award nominated, Samm-Art Williams; Nobel Laureate, Dereck Walcott, and actress & novelist Denise Nicholas and Tony Award-Winner Trazana Beverly to name a few. Theatre Morgan’s version of “Inside the Actor’s Studio”has hosted such notable actors as Thomas Jefferson Byrd, Dawn Ursula, Kevin Douglas, Ericka Ratcliff, Jerome Preston Bates, Frank Harts, Lizan Mitchell, Maria-Christina OliverasCrystal A. Dickinson and Michael Jean Dozier.  
The Murphy Fine Arts Center
The Murphy Fine Arts Center- 2201 Argonne Drive, Balto. MD 21251
The Turpin Lamb theater
                                                           The Turpin-Lamb Theater                                                                The Gilliam Concert Hall

Theatre Morgan is celebrating 40 years of Creating Theatre Professionals!

40years/$40 Scholarship

In honor of our 40th Anniversary, we would like to honor our hardworking and talented students with scholarships to assist them in their educational pursuit. If you would like to contribute to a students’ success, please contribute to the “C. Thomas Johnson Society for the Arts Scholarship Fund”. Our theme is 40years/$40, but any amount that you can give is greatly appreciated (and also tax deductible).

To contribute to the scholarship fund

 Make checks payable to: The M.S.U. Foundation 

Make certain to specify “Theatre Arts” in the memo/ref. line  of your check

Mailing address: The M.S.U. Foundation Office

               Truth Hall, Room 201

                 Morgan State University

                  1700 E. Coldspring Lane

              Baltimore, MD 21251


                Morgan State University

                                                  Theatre Department c/o Shirley Basfield Dunlap

                 Murphy Fine Arts Center

          2201 Argonne Drive

             Baltimore, MD 21251


For more information about the "C. Thomas Johnson Society for the Arts Scholarship Fund" 
please see the link on this website-