The Curriculum Team

The 4 Action Initiative extends our deep appreciation and sincere congratulations to the dedicated educators who gave so generously of their professional expertise, time, and talent to the development of this comprehensive educational resource. Their belief in the importance of the availability of such a resource for the classroom and their commitment to creating it was unwavering in the many months of hard work. We believe the units of study they developed and the range and depth of the lessons are remarkable as we strive to address critical issues of our time – 9/11, terrorism, and global security. And so, to our wonderful team of curriculum writers, for accepting and meeting the daunting challenge, we say to you simply but with the greatest respect and sincerity – thank you.

Elementary Committee Members 

Laura Dunn Grodewald, Committee Coordinator, Jackson School District/Global Youth Leadership Institute

Ryan R. Archer, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District

Tina M. von Dohlen, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District

Dena Ann Drobish, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District

Dr. Connie Donvito, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District

Peppy Margolis, Director Cultural Outreach, Raritan Valley Community College


Middle School Committee Members

Karen Hinkes Levine, Committee Coordinator, Central Middle School, Parsippany-Troy Hills School District

Adele Goldfinger Black, Copeland Middle School, Rockaway Township

Amy Jean Hawke, Lincoln School, Fairfield

Vernoy Joret Paolini, Lounsberry Hollow Middle School, Vernon

Mary M. Vazquez, Millburn Middle School, Millburn


High School Committee Members

Reba Petraitis, Committee Coordinator, Kent Place School

William R. Fernekes, Supervisor of Social Studies, Hunterdon Central Regional High School

Patricia Telschow Kebrdle, Lakeland Regional High School

Jill A. McCracken,  Teacher of History and Psychology

Arlene Shenkus, Retired Holocaust Educator

Vincent Soccodato, Supervisor of Social Studies, Woodbridge Township School District