Current Policies‎ > ‎

Handheld Ban

There are currently 12 states that have policies on handhelds. they are:
  • Arkansas(19-20 year olds)
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • D.C.
  • Illinois (Illinois bans the use of cell phones while driving in a school zone or in a highway construction zone)
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico (in state vehicles)
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Utah ( Utah's law defines careless driving as committing a moving violation (other than speeding) while distracted by use of a handheld cellphone or other activities not related to driving.)
  • Virgin islands
  • Washington (in effect June 2010)