The Common Core & High School Equivalency (HSE)

New York State adopted the Common Core State Standards in 2010, rebranding them the NYS Common Core Learning Standards.  These are sets of P-12 learning standards that are intended for use by P-12 traditional teachers who serve children and adolescents; nonetheless, adult and out-of-school youth (OSY) programs are also required to align their instruction to these standards as well.    Recognizing that it was unfair and unrealistic for adult and OSY programs to implement all P-12 standards given our limited resources time with our students, our federal representatives in the Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education created the College and Career Readiness Standards for Adult Education, a limited selection of adult-appropriate Common Core standards that is designed for our nontraditional field and programs.  

The release of the Common Core for adult and out-of-school youth system caused a significant shift in High School Equivalency (HSE) testing in 2014. For the first time ever, there are now three standardized HSE tests in the nation: HiSET from Educational Testing Services, GED from Pearson, and NYS's test the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC).  These three tests are similar in that they are all aligned to the CCSS and Webb's Depth of Knowledge and that they are all computer-based (CBT); however, each of the three tests differs in the extent and timeline of alignment and CBT.  All three HSE tests are also aligned to OCTAE's CCRAE standards (described above) as well.  


This website provides detailed and up-to-date information about the TASC and each of its subtests. Please contact me if you have any questions about any of the information on this site or if you'd like to learn more about the Common Core and/or TASC specific professional development services that the Literacy Assistance Center offers in New York and Nationwide.  

Shannon Allen
Literacy Specialist
Director of Professional Development Services
Literacy Assistance Center (