Junior Scholar Grant

The purpose of the Junior Scholar Grant is to encourage and support the scholarly work of newer scholars who are in the field of Religious Studies and who live in the Southwest Region. The Grant may provide seed money for an initial project, but may also provide support for a project pursued by a Junior Scholar whose research agenda is already established.One or two grants of up to $2000 may be given annually, with funds provided by the Southwest Commission on Religious Studies.


Applicants for the Grant must be members of one of the participating societies and on the faculty or staff of a sponsoring institution of the Commission. Applicants for the Grant shall ordinarily have completed their dissertation and have served in a faculty or staff position no more than ten years. Applicants should complete the Junior Scholar Grant application form, with special attention to the larger research project and how the Grant would assist in completion of the project.  Application and all additional materials should be submitted by December 1.

Among other things, the Grant is designed to integrate junior scholars into the work of the commission. With this goal in mind, the following criteria have been developed:

In the selection process, applicants who regularly attend and participate in SWCRS meeting will be given added consideration.

In the year that they apply, Junior Scholar applicants must attend the Regional Meeting reception in order to receive the grant.

By accepting the award the scholar agrees to come and present a paper at SWCRS the following year; in the year following the Grant, by March 1 the Junior Scholar will also provide the Board of Directors of the Southwest Commission a written report on research completed.


In order to apply for the Junior Scholar Grant, follow the directions below:

 1. Email a letter of application to swcrs.mail@gmail.com on or before December 1. The letter should include the following:

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Position and rank
  • Total number of years teaching and number of years at current institution
  • Title and nature of research project
  • Specific indication regarding how the grant will assist in the completion of the project, e.g., supplies, necessary travel, released time from summer teaching
  • Tentative time schedule for the entire project and current status
  • Some indication of the anticipated form of the published results (books or articles) and where the results might appear (publisher, if known, for a book and journals to which an article would be submitted)

2. Request two persons familiar with your scholarly work to send letters of support. Letters should be postmarked no later than December 15.  Letters of support may be emailed to swcrs.mail@gmail.com or mailed to the SWCRS at

Richard Bautch, Executive Secretary

3001 S. Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78704

3. E-mail a current curriculum vitae to swcrs.mail@gmail.com on or before December 1.

Previous Recipients

2016-17   Carl Hughes, Texas Lutheran University
                  Ryan Stokes, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
2014-15   Marc DiPaolo, Oklahoma City University
                  Santiago Pinon, Texas Christian University
2013-14  Angela Tarango, Trinity University
2012-13  Gregory Cuellar, Texas A & M University
                    Chad Spigel, Trinity University
2011-12 Sharon Betsworth, Oklahoma City University
            Mark Dennis, Texas Christian University
2010-11 Michael Homan, Xavier University of Louisiana
2009-10 Michael Martin, Lubbock Christian University
2008-09 Rebecca Raphael, Texas State University – San Marcos
            Eric A. Mitchell, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
2007-08 Hjamil A. Martinez, Texas Christian University
            Ruben Rene Dupertuis, Trinity University
2006-07 Heidi Campbell, Texas A & M University
            Serge Frolov, Southern Methodist University
2005-06 Leor Halevi, Texas A & M University
            David Jensen, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
2004-05 Brent Plate, Texas Christian University
            Stephen Ortiz, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
2003-04 Joel S. Burnett, Baylor University
            Sarah K. Pinnock, Trinity Univesity
2002-03 Jack A. Hill, Texas Christian University
            Todd C. Penner, Austin College
2001-02 Matthias Henze, Jr., Rice University
2000-01 Darren J. N. Middleton, Texas Christian University
1999-00 David B. Capes, Houston Baptist University
1998-99 Daphne C. Wiggins, Texas Christian University
1997-98 Joerg Rieger, Perkins School of Theology, SMU
1995-96 Richard H. Lowery, Phillips Theological Seminary
1994-95 Darryl Trimiew, Brite Divinity School, TCU
1993-94 Danna Nolan Fewell, Perkins School of Theology, SMU
            Lynn Tatum, Baylor University
1992-93 Jon L. Berquist, Phillips Graduate Seminary
            Richard W. Cogley, Southern Methodist University
1991-92 Gregory Walters, St. Mary's University
            Warren G. Frisina, University of Houston
1990-91 Mark G. Toulouse, Brite Divinity School, TCU
            William F. Monroe, University of Houston
1989-90 Bobby C. Alexander, Southern Methodist University
            Mikeal Parsons, Baylor University
1988-89 William H. Bellinger, Jr., Baylor University
            Victor H. Matthews, Southwest Missouri State University
1986-87 Daryl Schmidt, Texas Christian University
            Frank Gorman, Jr., Phillips University
1985-86 Dennis Smith, Oklahoma State University
            Robert Sloan, Baylor University
1984-85 Andrew J. Dearman, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary
            James O. Duke, Brite Divinity School, TCU