John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award

To honor noted scholars in the field of religious studies in the Southwest and to recognize their work, the Commission funds the John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award, which may be given annually. The recipient receives a $1,250 cash award. Previous honorees include

2016-2017 Nadia Lahutsky, Texas Christian University
2014-2015 Joerg Rieger, Perkins School of Theology
2013-14 Warren Carter, Brite Divinity School 
2012-2013 Andrew Fort, Texas Christian University

2011-12  Stephen Reid, George W. Truett Theological Seminary

2010-11 C. Mackenzie Brown, Trinity University

2008-09   William H. Bellinger, Jr., Baylor University

2007-2008    James C. Moyer, Missouri State University

2006-07   David Gunn, Texas Christian University

2005-06   Joe Barnhart, University of North Texas

2004-05   Claudia Camp, Texas Christian University

2003-04   Ronald B. Flowers, Texas Christian University

2002-03   E. Earl Ellis, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

2001-02   Toni Craven, Texas Christian University

2000-01   Bruce C. Cresson, Baylor University

1999-00   John T. Willis, Abilene Christian University

1998-99   Charles Hedrick, Southwest Missouri State University

1997-98   Leo Perdue, Brite Divinity School

1996-97   Everett Ferguson, Abilene Christian University

1995-96   Roy F. Melugin, Jr., Austin College

1994-95   James H. Ware, Austin College

1993-94   Joseph B. Tyson, Southern Methodist University

1992-93   Glenn O. Hilburn, Baylor University

1991-92   Brandon Scott, Phillips Graduate Seminary

1990-91   William O. Walker, Jr., Trinity University

1989-90   Kenneth Lawrence, Texas Christian University

1988-89   William Estep, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

1987-88   William R. Farmer, Southern Methodist University

1986-87   William R. Baird, Brite Divinity School

1985-86   Eugene Boring, Phillips Graduate Seminary

1984-85   John Glenn Gammie, University of Tulsa


The Nomination Process
Persons nominated for the John G. Gammie Distinguished Scholar Award shall ordinarily be scholars recognized by their peers nationally or internationally for the quality and importance of their work.

Nominees for the Gammie Award must be members of one of the participating societies and on the faculty or staff of a sponsoring institution of the Southwest Commission on Religious Studies.

A letter of nomination must be accompanied by the nominee's current curriculum vitae. At least two supporting letters from scholars at the same rank as the nominee are also required. Nominations will be kept on file for three years.

Gammie Award decisions shall be based on the qualifications of nominees. Some consideration is given to seeing that the Award goes to a variety of schools.

Nominations for the award should be sent no later than December 1 to:

Richard Bautch, Executive Secretary
3001 S. Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78704