Frank P. Forwood Award for Academic Excellence in Presented Research

This award was created by the Association for the Scientific Study of Religion--Southwest at the 2008 meeting of the ASSR-SW as part of the Southwest Commission on Religious Studies. The Award was created to honor the service and dedication of Frank P. Forwood, a founding member and long-time program chair of the ASSR-SW. He was a Professor of Sociology and Religion at Northeast Louisiana University (now the University of Louisiana--Monroe) for more than thirty years. Dr. Forwood passed away in 2007 and the Award commemorates his memory, honoring his career service to the ASSR-SW and SWCRS and his many contributions to the study of religion in society. 
Previous Honorees

2015-16 Ann Reed Wilder, Stephen F. Austin State University

2014-15 Patrick Scott Smith, Independent Scholar, Nixa, Missouri

2013-14 Stephen Padilla, Wayland Baptist University—San Antonio

2012-13 Dennis Horton, Baylor University

2011-12   Todd Jay Leonard, Fukuoka University of Education

2010-11   Ben D. Craver, Wayland Baptist University

2009-10   Todd Jay Leonard, Fukuoka University of Education

2008-09   Dennis P. Horton, Baylor University

2007-08   J. B. Watson, Stephen F. Austin State University


For information regarding this award, contact the ASSR President.