40th Anniversary Celebration of the SWCRS
Honoring the Legacy -- Continuing the Tradition

The March, 2014 meeting will honor past leaders, feature superb presentations, and look forward to the next forty years 

Plan to Attend Now

March 7-9, 2014

Marriott Hotel DFW Airport North, Irving, TX

Hotel Reservations Here

 2014 Meeting Program

Women's Lunch Hour

At the 2014 meeting there will be a lunch hour for women SWCRS attendees: We invite women graduate students, faculty, and independent scholars to get together over the lunch hour on Saturday, March 9 (noon - 1:20 p.m.). This will be a chance to meet other women scholars in biblical studies, archaeology and religion, and share your experiences and concerns.

Group Registrations

The registration site does not accept group registrations, but advanced registration for groups may be completed by emailing the names, institution, affiliated organization, and type (faculty, student).  Payment can be completed either by paying directing through the SWCRS Paypal Site or by paying onsite at the meeting.

Fr. David Balas, O.Cist., 1929-2014
Walter H. Bennett, 1938-2013

The commission requests information regarding members who have died in the past year. 

The Southwest Commission on Religious Studies was established in 1974 to encourage, support, and coordinate scholarly activities in the field of religious studies in the Southwest. The Commission serves as the umbrella organization for the regional American Academy of Religion, American Schools of Oriental Research, Association for the Scientific Study of Religion, and Society of Biblical Literature. The Commission is supported by membership and sponsoring institutions.

Vivian Bull, Jo Ann Hackett to

March 2014 Anniversary Celebration

The program for the 2014 Anniversary Meeting includes presentations by three renowned scholars. Vivian Bull (left), currently the president of Drew University, has a storied career excavating in Israel/Palestine and is an expert on international economics with a focus on the West Bank and Gaza. Jo Ann Hackett (right), of the University of Texas at Austin, has published widely on the Hebrew Bible and epigraphy, and she has also influenced the study of women's lives in the Near East and the study of myths and mythology.

John Esposito to Deliver AAR Plenary Address in March 2014

At the 2014 Anniversary Meeting, John Esposito of Georgetown University will give the AAR Plenary Address, titled "Religion, Politics and the Public Square: Desecularization and the Academy." Esposito is the founding director of the school's Pince Alwaleed bin Talal Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding. He is also the immediate past president of the American Academy of Religion.

SWCRS Officers

through February, 2014

President: Carole Holcomb,
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor

Vice President: Steve Ortiz,
Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

Executive Secretary: Richard J. Bautch,
St. Edward's University

Donations and Online Payments

The SWCRS Paypal Site provides a convenient way for group member registration payments, as well as for gifts to the commission and sponsorship payments.   Your support provides important funds for annual meeting expenses, student and retiree discounts, special workshops, and the grants and awards programs.

Subpages (2): 2013 Meeting 2014 Program