Reviews


Bob and Kim said...

Great home away from home. Very well maintained and everything is in excellent working order.

August 6, 2016
This does not present itself as a rental property and is very well laid out to easily accommodate 12 people.


KBoyd said...
Jul 29, 2016

A fabulous family tradition!

1678 Sandfiddler Road, Corolla, NC, 27927, United States (492274)Date of Stay
August 8, 2015Helpful votes:0/0
A wonderful destination for making lifelong family memories! Deb and Steve do so much to make the house welcoming for all visitors, and there is so much for families to do right at the house - enjoy the wildlife, jump in the pool, relax in the hammocks, walk on the endless beach, and surf the waves. Our family has enjoyed making Swandipity an annual tradition! Swandipity is a great place for couples or families with children. Our children love having the sand right at the doorstep, and it is so helpful having the pool for really hot days or times when the surf is rough. Our 2.5 year old loved boogie boarding on calm days, and we all enjoyed great walks in either direction down the beach!



Carrie D. said...

paradise

July 16, 2016
This place is incredible! Immaculate and comfortable. Beautifully and quite tastefully appointed. These owners thought of everything for us! We visited this rental with 3 total families and small children. Everyone had a wonderful time. Upon walking in you feel like you're at a 5 star resort, inviting and luxurious, Pristine white towels and sheets, gorgeous pool, plenty of room for all to sleep, hang out and play, etc. Wrap around decks at 2 levels to take in the incredible views from all angles. Can't wait for next year!!! Thank you to the Rothrocks!


David N. said...

Excellent Vacation Home

July 2, 2016
This home was perfect for our group of eight adults and one infant. It was very well maintained and had everything you would need for a great vacation. Almost every day we saw wild horses from the inside and the decks of the home. It was wonderful to look out on the ocean whenever you would want and often we could see dolphins. Other than there being more activity on the beach than I was expecting everything was a dream vacation. We were vacationing during peak season, however, which probably had a lot to do with the beach traffic. Everyone had a great time!Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
My Response
Thank you David for mentioning the decks…the two stories of wrap-a-round decks provide panoramic views from sunrise to sunset and so much more living space. It is like there is a outdoor room for picnicking out behind the kitchen, lounge chairs in the shade of the north side, high chairs/table to have your morning coffee on the east-side watching the sunrise, lazing in the hammocks on the lower north-side, luxuriating in the spa, seating for two on the porch swing on the south-side. Then of course there is there pool which is a great haven when there is "traffic on the beach”…usually on Saturdays…switch over days. So when you want to chill and get back to nature, experiencing all the beauty that surrounds us here on the Outer Banks, Swandipity is the place to be. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future!

Rowan and Rita K. said...

Family Vacation Dream!
June 25, 2016
Swandipity is a wonderful vacation home exactly as described and more! The owners take pride in their home and it shows throughout. It is beautifully decorated, maintained, spacious and clean. The house is fully stocked from the kitchen, games, books, TVs, movies, pool toys, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. The views are breathtaking! We saw horses and dolphins which was a treat. We really enjoyed having the pool and jacuzzi. This is our second year vacationing at OBX 4x4 area and renting from Debra and Stephen and is now our favorite vacation spot. We would return to this home in a heartbeat! Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us!
My Response
Rita, it is because of guests like you that we do take pride in our home and are able to maintain the unique qualities of Swandipity to share with others. We love that you appreciate the little extras that are provided as part of your stay. We want you to have everything that you need for a week at the beach and more. Thank you for pointing out the Swandipity’s cleanliness as that is a concern of many people seeking a home away from home. We are there every Saturday to make sure the turn-over from one renter to another goes smoothly and to see that the cleaner’s work meet our standards. We double check to make sure the pool area is in order, the grill is cleaned and the cement slab under the house is blown free of sand. We personally roll your towels, make your beds and make sure everything is put back in it’s place. We feel that it is the little touches that make a good rental home a great rental home! Hope to see you again soon.

Lauren C. said...

Wonderful vacation!
June 11, 2016
We are just finishing up our vacation at Swandipity and loved every moment. We are a family that loves to cook, and this kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. As a mother of two young children, this house is safer than I originally imagined. The pool cannot be accessed from either of the wrap around porches--eased my worries!! Also, you cannot access one porch from another. Each are self contained. The beach in front of the house was busy on the weekend, but we pretty much had the beach to ourselves during the week. Thanks for a great family vacation!!!!Recommended for: Families with Young Children
My Response
Lauren, Your review will be a relief for all who have small children. Safety is a big concern and we have addressed safety with child safety locks on the pool area and the fact that the hot tub can not be accessed from the children’s room. For general safety; the wrap around decks can not be accessed except through the house…you can not access the decks by walking up the front steps. We sometimes use the kitchen ourselves, so from experience, we keep it well equipped to make cooking for 12 people easy and enjoyable! We are happy to share our home and hope that you will visit us again.


John W. said...

Magical time
June 4, 2016
From the time you see the house top over the the dune, the excitement begins. We were so excited that the house was actually on the dunes. It was the ultimate "beach" experience. The house is absolutely gorgeous inside and out and well kept. The house itself is a unique design from any other house we saw in the area. It made us feel just that more special for our stay. We had 2 families there and the open layout on the top floor was great for when the kids and adults wanted be together and socialize. The bedrooms were very homey and comfortable for when we wanted to be alone. We also like the fact that there were sitting options on all sides of the house. In the morning we would sit on the deck for the sunrise and in the back of the house during sunset. The beach is right over the dune and there is a nice walkway that is right in front of the house. It made it easy for us to access the beach. The owners were very accommodating and a pleasure to work with. Whenever we had questions, they were immediate to answer wether it was via email or phone. Being a photographer, it was great see horses every day at dusk and dawn. There were even a couple instances when the horses came right next to the house. It was very cool to see the horses from the balcony just going about their daily routines. There were plenty of great photo opportunities. Because we went In the during what is still considered the off-season season (first week in June), based on weather reports, we decided at the last minute to have the pool heated which was well worth it. At the time of our stay, the ocean breeze is cool and ocean was even colder, so it was nice to have the heated pool to retreat to after being on the beach. We will defiantly be visiting Swandipty again. Thank you for an amazing vacation. Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
My Response
As John pointed out, Swandipity is a one-of-a-kind house that I designed and my husband and I built back in 2005. It has been our pride and joy ever since. Being able to be in this unique niche of the world is a gift that we are happy to share with you! Swandipity is a house that was planned with family gatherings in mind. We all love to be together as family yet we cherish our quiet time, our time to relax in the hammock, sunbath, read a book or watch the sun setting over the sound. We have a space for it all, with our extra “rooms” that are found on the two floors of wrap-around decks. While the bedrooms are homey and comfortable, it is important to mention the privacy that is provided by all of the en-suite bathrooms. John, I love that you are a photographer! I find photography a wonderful way to get back to nature and share the beauty that surrounds us here on the Outer Banks. The wild horses with their equine lines are formidable subjects that capture the spirit that weaves patterns throughout our lives. We are glad that you and your guests became part of that pattern this summer! Looking forward to you coming back again.



Victoria C. said...
Jun 19, 2016

Wonderful first visit to the OBX

June 20, 2015
Our stay at the house was unforgettable. In a good way. This is our new favorite vacation spot. The house is beautiful, well maintained and has everything you could possibly need on your trip. There is so much space- we had 9 people in our group and could all have our own space when needed. There is definitely no shortage of seating and we all had our favorite spots to relax. We rebooked for next year before our week was even up! The owners are just a phone call away and easy to get a hold of if you need anything or have questions. They also respond to emails quickly and make the booking process run smoothly. As an added bonus the horses are frequent visitors to the property and we got to see one of the foals. We all highly recommend Swandipity. Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Girls Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers
My Response
Victoria, your review is a special testament because you are coming back a year later! Thank you for pointing out the ample seating…when we say it’s a house for 12 people, we mean there is seating for 12 in the living room, dining room and at the pool as well as beds for 12. The fact that we live nearby is reassurance that we will be there at a moment’s notice, should there be a need…we welcome phone calls to answer questions. We are glad that your booking process went smoothly on our website as it is our aim to simplify the process and save you the VRBO reservation fee. May this year's vacation be everything you are hoping for!

5/7/2016
Best of OBX

The description of this home is spot on. We love going to the Outer Banks and always rent on the 4x4 beach to have a chance to see the wild horses. They were at this home everyday! Unobstructed ocean views and a wrap around porch assures you will be amazed looking out at any direction. This house feels like a home and is surely taken care of as one with all the attention to detail given to every room. Nothing needed in kitchen, big space to move around in living areas and good size bedrooms. The owner even has her art and photos on the walls to make it a spectacular place to visit. Plenty of items at the home including beach chairs, boogie boards, pool floats for outside. Games, movies, books and a TV in every room for the occasional rainy day. Can't thank the owners, Debbie and Steve enough for letting us experience one of our favorite places, the Outer Banks in such a beautiful setting. Definitely have told friends and definitely will be back next year!


8/9/2015

Lifetime of memories at Swandipity!

We had a wonderful vacation at Swandipity, and we are so excited about repeating the adventure again in a couple of weeks! We have been going to Swandipity for years, and the house is always in perfect condition! Debbie and Steve are constantly updating the amenities, and we always feel like we are arriving at a five star hotel. The house is right at the water's edge and there are no immediate neighbors, so you really feel like you are getting away from it all. The kids love having the beach in the front yard and the pool at the house, giving us plenty of options throughout the day. The 4x4 area is the perfect place for a family vacation, and you never know when the horses will show up - they really seem to like to visit Swandipity! Thanks!
7/11/2015

Serendipity at Swandipity

Vacation was perfect! Vacation was perfect! The house was beautiful and well kept and had everything you needed from cookware to pool floats and corn hole. One of the best features was the fact that it had 7 bathrooms, everyone had their own shower and there was a bathroom poolside, very convenient. My whole family was in awe of the place and we are already talking about going back. There was a little issue with the TV in the main living room and the owners took care of it right away, that meant a lot. It is nice to know you will be taken care of. I would not hesitate to book this property.


6/20/2015
Wonderful first visit to the OBX


Our stay at the house was unforgettable. In a good way. This is our new favorite vacation spot. The house is beautiful, well maintained and has everything you could possibly need on your trip. There is so much space- we had 9 people in our group and could all have our own space when needed. There is definitely no shortage of seating and we all had our favorite spots to relax. We rebooked for next year before our week was even up! The owners are just a phone call away and easy to get a hold of if you need anything or have questions. They also respond to emails quickly and make the booking process run smoothly. As an added bonus the horses are frequent visitors to the property and we got to see one of the foals. We all highly recommend Swandipity.

6/13/2015 

Great family vacation

Everything was wonderful.  The home was beautiful and very spacious. We love to cook and the kitchen had everything you could imagine. We met Debra and Stephen and they explained a lot of the little things we needed to know about the house. The home is decorated beautiful but still very warm and comfortable. Our family had a wonderful time and would definitely stay at "swandipity" again.


5/30/2015

Swandipity Great Family vacation home!

Swandipity was an excellent home for our family vacation.  Steve and Debra are such lovely an accommodating hosts. Swandipity is not just a vacation house it is a HOME warm an inviting. I can't say enough about the home it has everything you would ever need plus more! Debra and Steve take great pride in their home and it shows both inside and outside, from umbrellas in the pool area to the placement of the beach chairs. We would like to thank Debra and Steve for sharing their beautiful home with us. We look forward to returning to Swandipity in the future.

5/23/2015

Very Pleased

Home was spotless.  Great condition. All the appointments of a fully entertaining property. Owners were terrific. Horses everyday!! Nothing in the owner's description is misleading or exaggerated. All that and some nice surprises! Melissa and Rusty Hutcheson




9/20/2014

FANTASTIC BEACH HOME

We rented Swandipity through VRBO as a first time to the Outer Banks.  We were looking for a beautiful oceanfront property that would house our entire family (grandchildren ages 1 - 5, children and their spouses) for a week at the beach. We had never driven a 4x4 on the beach before and were a little leery about this adventure. However, it was well worth the 3and 1/2 miles on the beach drive. It is an absolutely lovely home, with every amenity you could think of. The house is decorated beautifully and was very very clean! The pool was fantastic and a lifesaver on those bad weather days we had. (I recommend spending the extra money to heat it, if you are going in early fall or late summer). The hot tub was also an added bonus. From TV's in every room to towels and linens, full size washer and dryer, dishes, pots and pans, etc., it really was a home away from home. And the owners were very friendly and helpful. I had quite a few questions and they were always very prompt and polite with their return emails and/or phone calls. The furnishings and decorations are so cozy and inviting and the view is PHENOMENAL in this home! We truly loved our week at Swandipity and plan on spending many more years there in the future!

9/20/2014

Swandipity Family Beach Vacation

This home is spectacular! It was our first visit to OBX and we couldn't have been more pleased. From its gorgeous views of the water to its gorgeous heated pool and quality amenities it was an outstanding vacation home. We loved the layout of the home - 3 levels with the top level being our kitchen dining family room and decks the whole way around. The second floor was lovely with roomy bedrooms and each having its own bathroom. We had wild ponies in the side yard which the grandchildren loved. Although weather wasn't the best that week we had a lovely time in a lovely home.

9/13/2014

Slice Of Heaven

This amazing home was well planned out to relax and let go of our ever day stress.  If you want a vacation home to lounge or take a dip in a pool, sit in a hot tub, watch wild horses and deer walking right up to the house, sit on the top deck and look at amazing views, watch a sun rise or sunset or see the Dolphins swimming in the ocean, then this is the place! The owner's were very accommodating. We can't say enough great things about this house. Everything about it says "relaxing getaway"....from the magical location on the 4x4 beach; We will be back!

8/23/2014

Family vacation

It is a beautiful home set up just the way you would set it up if you owned it yourself as a second home. The Rothrocks have added all those little touches and amenities down to the finest details like Tupperware containers to store your leftovers. We have stayed here two years and absolutely love it and will probably stay many more years. Thank you to the Rothrocks for allowing us to share their home.

8/13/2014

Wonderful Getaway

My wife and I have been lucky enough to visit Swandipity each year for the past 3 years.  Each time we go, we have a wonderful time and enjoy every minute of our visit. Our only regret is that we can never stay longer. Sitting up on the Widow's Walk looking out over the sunrise with a cup of coffee or just listening to the waves at dusk with a relaxing beverage is one of our favorite places to be. Swandipity is the perfect place for reconnecting with friends and family. The owners are two of the most hospitable and friendly people you will ever meet and they really care about celebrating and protecting the local area and environment. Great views of both the sunrise and the sunset and you will also enjoy watching the wild horses. We love Swandipity and we can't wait to go back!

8/9/2014

An Unforgettable Vacation!

We just enjoyed the most beautiful and relaxing week at Swandipity!  Your home has absolutely everything- not one detail is overlooked- from the perfectly situated hammocks to the fabulously well-appointed kitchen. From the first moment that we arrived, our family felt welcome and at home. On our first evening, we enjoyed a moonlight drive down the beach and a cocktail on the upper deck, while watching shooting stars and listening to the waves roll in. We spent every morning at the beach, playing in the warm water and having fun with the boogie boards. In the afternoons, while the babies napped, we enjoyed floating in the pool and rocking on the porch swing. Evenings were spent with a nice cocktail and blazing sunsets. Time seemed to stop and we often could not even remember what day it was...was it Tuesday or Wednesday? This is how much we completely lost ourselves in the beauty and peacefulness of our trip. And, we had many wild horse spottings! One of our favorite parts of our trip was cooking big dinners in the big, bright kitchen, often steaming crab, or grilling fresh fish outside. This is the perfect spot for families, and the availability of a pack n' play and highchair made it so much easier for us to travel with a baby. We consider ourselves so lucky to have experienced the perfect Outer Banks vacation and love, love Swandipity. It is an unforgettable, magical place.

8/9/2014
We had a wonderful vacation at Swandipity, and we are so excited about repeating the adventure again in a couple of weeks! We have been going to Swandipity for years, and the house is always in perfect condition! Debbie and Steve are constantly updating the amenities, and we always feel like we are arriving at a five star hotel. The house is right at the water's edge and there are no immediate neighbors, so you really feel like you are getting away from it all. The kids love having the beach in the front yard and the pool at the house, giving us plenty of options throughout the day. The 4x4 area is the perfect place for a family vacation, and you never know when the horses will show up - they really seem to like to visit Swandipity! Thanks!

7/5/2014

Recent guest

We vacationed here with our daughters and their families to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and I Can't say enough about this beautiful place. Accommodations were exceptional, our family had everything we needed and more for an incredible week. Every kitchen appliance and tool you might need was there. It's a small thing I know but all baths had additional hooks on the back of doors for all those towels and clothes you just don't want to put away in drawers...The pool was a favorite with the grandkids and the hot tub was a great addition for the adults after the kids were in bed. The beach was perfect and the wild horses made our vacation one we will never forget. We were worried about traveling on the beach but managed just fine by taking air out of tires....I would recommend this place to everyone!

6/21/2014

Wonderful Vacation Home

This was are second trip to the 4X4 Beach Area.  We had a wonderful trip. I dont know where to begin on the house. Everything was wonderful. The house had more then everything we needed, from inside to poolside. We have been coming to OBX for several years and I know we will be back to Swandipity!! We saw wild horses every day. The owners are wonderful. We had an issue with the washer and they were there the next day and installed a new one! They take great pride in their home. Thank you for sharing your home with us! We had age range from 4 to 74 and we all had a blast!

6/14/2014

........perfect in every way!

Dear Debra and Stephen,  Our vacation was so wonderful and part of it couldn't have been without the stay at Swandipity. There wasn't anything that we needed that you didn't provide. The decor and comfort was perfect in every way! Debra, your paintings are amazing! My favorite is the large painting with the horse hanging in the entry way. I can't get over the detail that you can pull out with watercolors. I wish that you offered classes, I would sign up for sure. Our family thanks you both for our lovely stay and hopes to return next year. Thanks again, Corey, Tyler Kline and Family!

5/24/2014

Family Retreat

We have been coming to the OBX for nearly 10 years and our stay at Swandipity was by far the best OBX getaway we have ever had.  The house was beautifully decorated, fully equipped and extremely clean! The location was perfect...beach access was easily accessible, saw dolphins every morning and the horses made an appearance each day we were there. We cannot wait to book again soon!

5/10/2014

Exceptional in every way!!

I really don't even know where to begin!  We have rented many vacation homes and none have ever been so well appointed and felt like you were actually staying in the convenience of home. Every pot, pan, utensil etc. that you could need is there and that's just one room! The bedrooms with the extra blankets, pillows, all the attentions to detail were so very appreciated and not expected! And then, there's THE VIEW!! There is no bad spot on any of the porches to sit, such an easy, beautiful walk to the beach.... Even the beach chairs were nice and new! These owners truly take every comfort item into consideration and it does not go unnoticed! We will definitely be returning, hopefully year after year! This is one listing you don't want to miss!!

5/3/2014

A very special house

Coming up the stairs to the top floor is always a thrill because the view is all around; it’s like being on the bridge of a ship.  The open floor plan is spacious and airy, yet there are lots of special places to settle down to read or converse. We met Debbie by accident when we drove up to Swandipity for a closer look at that beautiful house and Debbie invited us in; we booked our first week the next day. Over the years, we have rented over twenty oceanfront vacation houses from Maine to North Carolina. Since we first stayed in Swandipity in May 2007, we have been back for a week or two every year since. For us, Swandipity has become the standard upon which all others are compared. From the start it was clear that Swandipity was the love of its owners by the way it was designed, decorated, cared for, and maintained. We just left and already I an looking forward to the next stay.

4/26/2014

Swandipity is full of stunning personality and amazing views

First trip to the Outer Banks in 20 years and it was incredible. The pictures paled in comparison to the view we awoke to each morning. Sunrise, sunset, thunder storms, horses running free and the ocean, cannot ask for much more than that. Property is beautiful on the inside and out. We definitely will be back to Swandipity soon. Thank you so much for letting us make your wonderful home ours for the week.

9/14/2013

We loved everything about staying @SWANDIPITY.  The ocean, the horses, the beach, the view.  The 4x4 beach is breath-taking.  The sunrises here are beautiful!  It's got a cosy, homey feeling & we really enjoyed our vacation.  Thank you!!


8/24/2013
Cocktails on the front deck, cocktails on the back deck, cocktails on the beach.  Six friends taking a break from everyday life.  You may call your four walls and roof SWANDIPITY, but we call it Serendipity.  Your home has everything we could want and more.  This is such a special place.  You should be proud of this lovely home as we were proud to call SWANDIPITY our home for the week.  Thank you!!

7/27/2013
What a wonderful place SWANDIPITY is for our families.  This is our 2nd year vacationing in your home and we feel it has become our home too.  Our children enjoy hours of fun in the sand, ocean, pool.  The adults spend many hours of great laughs, good food and pure love of family!  Thank you! We cannot wait to come back next year for another 2 weeks!  This place is our escape from our busy lives.  See you next summer!
 
7/25/2013
This is such a joyful place.  This is OUR joyful place!

6/30/2013 
As we rolled onto 4x4 beach, I had no idea what to expect.  I was stunned by the raw natural beauty of the shore, dunes and horses.  We enjoyed every aspect of this home.  As parents, w/ a 4 year old & 3 month old, the house felt safe and secure for the kids.  It is absolutely designed w/a family in mind.  We loved seeing the new baby dig her toes into the sand for the first time, and were inspired by the wonder & amazement on our 4 year old's face when she first saw the horses.  Thank you so much for opening your home to our family!

5/11/2013

Truly A Special Place

Swandipity is a most beautifully designed beach home set on a gorgeous 13 mile stretch of the Outer Banks -- a perfect home away from home.The owners are meticulous in maintaining their property which is perfectly furnished, extremely comfortable, and always immaculate. We have been renting this special place for quite a number of years and always know we will find the peace and serenity we look forward to away from our world back in NY. There are amazing wrap-around views for looking out over the ocean and watching the horses - and as well, a perfectly situated hot tub for views too. There are myriad places inside and out in which to get comfy and read or just relax, and the beds are truly great for getting a good night's sleep. We love sitting on the front deck in the morning with our breakfast and having drinks during the brilliant sunsets on the back deck. The owners of Swandipity are hands on and will attend to your needs. We highly recommend our home away from home!
5/4/2013  
We've been enjoying Swandipity for years now- our home away from home in May.  Debbie and Steve have created a most beautiful and comfortable and well-cared-for place from which to enjoy this special stretch of dunes and ocean, wild horses and sunsets.  There is a wonderful peacefulness here.
We consider Swandipity our home away from home over the last 7 years. The owners take great care with the maintenance of their home and we always find it without any issues, immaculate and comfortable, and beautifully decorated.
 
 9/8/2012  
Overall pleased with the home. Would like to have seen more cabinets/shelving in bathrooms to put out "personal items". Loved the decor all through the house...admired the hand paintings by the owner.    
 
9/1/2012  
Normally towels are hung in rooms not shrink wrapped. 1 bath didn't even get a floor mat. Still in all we had a beautiful peaceful vacation & love Swandipity! I would recomend Swandipity only if i could come & stay with the people! I love this home & am sad that we won't be back next year. Just hoping we'll be able to reserve it again!!!      
 
8/18/2012  
Great home; well done and decorated. Love Debbie's watercolors!  
 
7/21/2012  
The home is lovely. We are interested in contacting the homeowner about purchasing prints of some of the paintings she painted. (on display throughout the house)      
 
6/23/2012 
Our experience was outstanding. The house had everything, right down to beach chairs, boogie boards and pool toys. Everyone, young and old alike, had a great time.     
 
6/16/2012  
The house was clean and well equipped. It was a very comfortable home and very close to the beach. Having the walkway out to the beach was nice so we didn't have all the dunes to cross. We will definitely make vacationing at this home a family tradition. Twiddy was extremely courteous and seemed to think of everything (even putting air in your tires!) Great home managed by a great company. Thank you!      
 
5/26/2012  
Swandipity was serene! Our vacation experience was exceptional. It was amazing waking up or going to bed every day with wild horses right out our window! The beach was at our toes and the views of the ocean were outstanding!      
 
5/5/2012  
We've been renting this home f or 6 years now, and always give it perfect marks!   We are never let down.  It is a special place on a special beach for us.  Recently in the NY Times (3/11/2012) we learned of a term: "Thin Place": a locale where the distance between heaven and earth collapses making for a transformative magic...with blissful moments...a place where we can become our more essential selves.  Thanks to Deb and Steve and Swan Beach we have found a "Thin Place", so perfect for us...
 
4/28/2012  
Wonderful home with great views. Lots of ammenities and great places to lounge, We especially loved the hammocks.   We have thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Outer Banks and our stay in your lovely home. 
 
4/1/2012
Thoroughly enjoyed  your "window to the world"!!  It was great visiting with you in this spectacular environment!  
 
10/01/2011
Thank you so much for the use of Swandipity, had an amazing week.  Everything was perfect as usual, this house is so special to us and we'll continue to make this a yearly birthday tradition for many years to come.  We've never stayed at a house that was so beautiful from the panoramic views, artwork and decor, all the comforts of home.  Thanks again, have a wonderful rest of the year.
 
9/24/2011
Thanks for 5 years of beautiful memories.  As we move on to new vacation adventures we will not forget the warmth created by a home so lovingly  maintained - as well as all the "little" touches that really do matter, the classical music that greet us each year when we arrive; the feather pillows on the couches; the sliver starfish on the mantel...  Thanks for sharing your home with us..  We wish you love + peace.
 
9/10/2011
Third year in a row at a fabulous, beautifully decorated home that we have enjoyed more and more each year.  although we all have dishpan hands from the dishwasher breaking down the first day!  Just kidding!  Hope to be back again next year!  Thanks Debra and Steve for your wonderful hospitality!  Will miss cocktail hour on the front deck every night people watching.
 
8/25/2011
The Freemans and company were enjoying the best home ever!  However, our vacation was interrupted by Irene.  Hurricane Irene that is!  We'll have to return and praise / give our accolades to a gorgeous home!  Thanks!  We'll be back!  Swandipity stay safe & sound!
 
8/20/2011
Our fifth year at Swandipity is coming to a close, leaving us with yet more wonderful memories.  This year will be most memorable for our 8 year old  grandson Jude, learning how to ocean fish - catching two fish at a time!  We're already looking forward to next year!
 
8/13/2011
Loved the pool!
 
7/16/2011
It was finally great meeting you, thanks for visiting us while we were here.  You have a beautiful home here in Corolla.  We hope your daughter's wedding goes well and she and her new husband have a blessed marriage.
 
7/9/2011
As always, Swandipity has been a home away from home!  We have had a wonderful week--breezes, waves, shells, a seahorse!  Sightings of Lucy were the cherry on top!!  We will remember this year as we look forward to the next.
Thank uou for allowing us the use of this beautiful home.  Our time together has been precious!
P.S.  Two new babies saw the ocean for the first time and loved it!
 
6/11/2011
We arrived on this Outer Bank on a dark rainy Saturday night with full confidence that Swandipity would be the perfect vacation site.  We awakened to a castle of light.  Debbie and Steve , we are awestruck with your execution of design, engineering and care.  Being obsessed homeowners, we recognize talent and commitment when we see it.  Like the migratory birds, we have paused to experience the perfection of this home and this beach.  Now with regret, we must fly away.  Off, the memories we have stored to take home with us.  Now, we can sing the praises of "OBX-OBX".  Thank you for your friendship and the opportunity to be your guests.  

6/11/2011
We so enjoyed our visit to your beautiful part of the world!  What a paradise.  You made our stay so very comfortable - you thought of everything!  Thank you, what a pleasure.

6/11/2011
How hard it is to leave paradise.  It seems all of nature came out to say good bye to us this morning - the wild horses, pelicans, dolphins, dragonflies all dancing in the sunshine beckoning us to stay a little longer.  We have loved our time here - including our 2 week old daughter who has proven to love evening walks on the beach - her first trip - thank you for every detail.  It has been a fantasy.

5/7/2011
Those of you reading this are so fortunate to have found Swandipity!  This is our 6th year in what has become a most special place to which we retreat from NY and the rest of the world for a much too brief moment in time to re-energize.  The exquisite views from this beautiful home, ever-changing sands, sunsets on the back deck & in the hot-tub, fresh-air-outdoor showers, forever watchable horses (always new ones being born), long walks & more long walks, and superb shells to savor back home    (Some of mine have graced the pages of "Beach" by Josie Iselin) ...all so special.
We thank Debra & Steve for their meticulous care and the comfort of Swandipity over all these years...and we look forward to being back here again and again.  In between visits we have our shells and our favorite Debra print ("horse with bird") to reminisce by!     

11/9/2008
Thanks again for the wonderful hospitality & opportunity to be with you and enjoy the great Outer Banks at the world's best beach house.  It's a joy to see your talents so beautifully displayed. 
We cherish our friendship-
God Bless you, Kim Maggie and all that's close to you.     Love, Dan and Joan    

10/4/2008
WOW, This is a little piece of heaven!!  We will be back same time next year.  Everything was perfect and it was so great meeting you guys!!  Love the artwork!  -Phil and Kelly

9/13/2008
Words cannot fully express what an incredible & relaxing vacation we have had in your beautiful home.  This was our first visit to the 4x4 beach & it will not be the last.  It was a pleasure to meet you & your little Maggie.  Thank you for your hospitality! - Tish, Tom, Eric Jen, Jack, Vicki, Johnnie, Amy & Brent

9/6/2008
We had a wonderful time.  We saw wild horses, dolphins and had fun in the pool.  We don't want to leave it's so wonderful and it's cozy.  We are going to miss this house.  We love your paintings. - Lydia, Ella, Angie, Wes and Kelsey

8/23/2008
We had a splendid stay here despite the rough surf, rain (at times), clouds and wind.  I suppose we experienced a true sampling of the Outer Banks weather.  The days of sunshine made us forget the other less than perfect days.  Beside, this beach house is a true pleasure to stay at anytime.  This is our first visit to SWANDIPITY and the Lord willing, won't be the last.  We fished and caught four different species of fish & had a very wonderful reunion with family and couldn't ask for a more wonderful place to do this.  Thanks for your hospitality.

8/23/2008
We had another GREAT week in your amazing beach house.  There are far too many memories to put down on paper, but those memories will stay with us through the winter while we look forward to next year.
Thank you for sharing this house with everyone.  It puts a smile on a lot of faces. - Jeff, Debbie, Ryan & Jude

8/23/2008
Another perfect week at "our beach house" as our grandson Jude now refers to this house!  So many fond memories of our third annual Outer Banks Family Vacation.  Hope to see you some time next year. - Beth and Bob

8/8/2008
This is our first trip to the Outer Banks & I know it won't be the last!!!  We are having such a great time.  No one wants to go home, especially me. I am the Mom Mom of this family & I have waited a long time to spend a week on the beach with a beautiful view of the ocean.  Your home is beautiful & we love the great touches you have.  Thank you so much for the picture of this house.  I just love all your paintings.  The one hanging in the stairwell is especially lovely.  It has a house, the ocean & the beach...all the things I love to look at.  The owls you have on the railings remind my daughter of her time at Temple University.  We will have great memories of this vacation!!!  We all want to stay & not go home.  Hope to be here again next year.  God Bless you for sharing your home with us. - Joe, Kay, Joe Terrie, Tim, Erin,Boyd, Bandon, Ryan, Laura and Katlin

8/2/2008
We had such a wonderful time with our family.  You have a beautiful home- we all want to go home and redecorate!  It was the perfect week.  Thank you so much for providing such a great place.  PS your artwork is amazing!  - Tom & Liz

8/2/2008
Hands down, the most beautifully decorated beach house we have ever, ever seen!  This house needs to be featured in Pottery Barn or Martha Stewart- everything is so lovely.  Again, the art throughout is amazing...we were all so impressed!  Thank you again for a perfect week in the perfect beach house!  We'll be back! 
-Erin & Charley

8/2/2008
What a spectacular place!!  Horses at our doorstep...(could you release the deer?) "Funny Farm" anyway, want to stay here again (and again and again!)
So much fun relaxing in the sun with the best family ever!!  McK1 (McK one) get it?!!
Can we purchase your pictures anywhere Debbie?  I want to have them at my home!  I love the horse picture near the landing but all are amazing!  What a collection of pictures...awesome!!  Well that's all for me...- Sue

7/26/2008
WOW! Another fabulous vacation here (our 3rd)!  We had a great week, great weather and lots of fun.  My daughter caught a skate fishing and also caught a minnow in her bathing suit while swimming!  We saw many dolphins and minnows jumping out of the water.  Lots of fun in the super tube; we used our sand shovels as paddles until we got to the store to buy paddles.  We found 2 sand dollars and took many early morning and late evening walks on the beach.  The nesting birds made a fuss every day as we walked onto the beach;  we saw the baby birds one night when coming back from our walking...they are so cute!  The horses were here several times and our daughter nearly ran into two mares at night coming back from our late evening walk on the beach!  We caught a large variety of fish and saw a very impressive storm on Thursday.  We are sad to go but take lots of wonderful memories with us and plan to return next year! - Jeff, Roxanne, Annemarie, Madeline & Mom Mom

7/19/2008
It hardly seems like four straight years that we have been enjoying your home!  Over the years our family has grown but we enjoy what you share with us here as much as the first year.  It is so comforting to know the special place you have here  thoughtfully planned, perfectly furnished and decorated with your talent.  This year "Bertha" concerned us but she turned out to the Atlantic leaving us with some incredible surf to enjoy.  We experienced our first "red flag" beach but thanks to your wonderful home with all the amenities, it was merely another memory!  
Thanks so much for all you put into your "house" to allow us to have a home at the Outer Banks!  And yes, we have reserved our 5th year already!
- David and Marlene

5/17/2008
This is our last night here and I must say, we are sorry to leave.  Your home provided such warmth and comfort that we could really relax and let our cares wash out to sea.  The week that we spent here is the first week of the rest of our lives as it was our honeymoon.  There were many other places in the world that we looked at going to but knowing we love the Outer Banks as much as we do, it was the obvious choice for us.  Staying in the 4x4 area was new for us though and we love it!  Thank you so much for sharing your home with us!  - Ron and Vicki

5/3/2008
You are both so very talented, in differing ways, that come together to make for an exquisite home that provides a most special experience...in this beautiful corner of the world.  The views are superb...the attention to detail of design, comfort & decor of SWANDIPITY are jest perfect (and the housekeeping and maintenance as well!)  We head back to our lives in Pound Ridge, NY, the better for our time here.  Thank you so much, we'll see you next May. - Sharon and Dennis

9/22/2007
This was our 4th year vacationing at Swan Beach but our first at SWANDIPITY.  The quality of our stay here far exceeds previous experiences as well as our expectations.  Thank you for maintaining such an impeccable home and for dip laying so much attention to detail.  Your choice of decor and amenities only serve to enhance the surrounding natural beauty.  Thanks for everything- hope to see you next year! - Susan and Gary

9/20/2007
Thank you for making our vacation a memorable one for all of us this year!!  In spite of the "wind" and rain living for a week in this house, with its fantastic ocean views, made-up the the time here on the Banks.  Meeting you and Steve personally was an added pleasure!  Thank you again for your hospitality- God Bless- We'll see you again next year!!! - Dave, Jessica and family

8/25/2007
The only bad thing about staying in this house is having to leave.  I think that both the kids and the adults all agree that this place could not have been more amazing.  The memories we all have of our time here will have to get us through the time till we come again.  
Thank you for sharing your home with us and the house felt like "home" from the first day, the decorating and the layout were perfect.  Thank you again and we'll see you next year. - Jeff, Debbie, Ryan & Jude

8/25/2007
This past week can be summed-up in one word: Perfection!  Can't think of a better place for our second annual Outer Banks Vacation.- Beth and Bob

8/25/2007
Your house is absolutely spectacular!  We had such an amazing week with family and friends,  all of the special touches you've done around the house truly make you feel at home.  Thank you for going above and beyond in accommodating your guests.  It was a wonderful week and we'll definitely be back!
- Jodi, Ken Annaleise & Hayden

8/25/2007
From the beautiful views from every window, to the horses in the backyard, the dolphins in the ocean, to your absolutely beautiful house.  What more can we say  than thank you  for sharing your home with our family and friends and helping to make this a truly memorable vacation.  We can't wait until next year.
PS Your watercolors are absolutely beautiful and my family can't wait to hang ours up in our new home! - Neil, Tracy and Ethan

8/25/2007
The moment we walked into your home with Neil, Tracy and Ethan, I fell in love with the view, the decor and all the special touches you have so thoughtfully provided.  We had beautiful weather, horses that visited & watched the dolphins jump in the ocean.  Thank you for sharing. - Jackie

8/11/2007
What a wonderful house!  Impeccably decorated house, great beach house, great beach access, etc.  This was our furst time in 4 wheel drive country , and we really enjoyed it!  A few possible improvements: cable in the bedrooms and internet of some kind - perhaps a wireless port.  Otherwise, many thanks for an enjoyable week!!  Just fabulous!  The artwork is amazing!  - Sharon

8/4/2007
Many thanks for a fantastic week - lovely house, beach etc.  Access was trickier than we thought - we wrote off two cars in under a week!  Despite that, we had a great time.  - Daniel and Caroline, Tom and Rebecca...London, England
Lesson learned....You do need a 4x4 vehicle to travel 3.5 miles up the beach to get to the house

7/28/2007
Great vacation!  Our second year here at your home and we can't wait to come back!  The weather was perfect, the ocean was great.  We had fun on the beach, at the pool and in the hot tub.  We saw the horses but not the pig.  Fishing was great; caught flounder (8), 2 weakies and lots of spot & croaker and a pair of goggles!  We enjoyed the breeze, the view, the swing, hammocks and the beautiful views of the ocean and beaches.  Please do not put an internet connection in; love the solitude...no work all play! The big tube was fun and so was the shim board (my daughter never shim boarded before) now we need a shim board of our own at home. 
- Jeff, Roxanne and our daughter Marlena, Annemarie, Madeline and Mom Mom Josephine

7/14/2007
For the third straight year we've had the incredible experience of gathering our family together here at your home.  As has been the case previously, this year was truly a delight!  We have enjoyed the anticipation of knowing what awaits us and your home has never disappointed us.  The weather was gorgeous, the water was beautiful, and on top of all of this, our two oldest grandchildren (ages 4-6) learned to swim in your pool!  Thanks again for sharing your lovely home.  We've already made plans to return in 2008!  - David, Marlene, Benjamin, Jillian, Rachel, Daniel, Kelly, Jeremiah, DaniRae, AnaGrace, Anna and Joel

7/7/2007
Your home is beautiful.  This was our first visit to the Outer Banks.  Our family didn't want to go out in the evening!  The 4x4 beach was a challenge - what fun.  My daughter enjoyed your decorating.  We hate to leave.  Hope to be back in 2008!  The print was a great treat!  You are an awesome artist. - Judy & Rick

6/30/2007
Thank you for allowing our two families to stay in your beautiful beach home.  Our families have visited OBX several times and this was our first 4x4 beach experience.  It was amazing!  We look forward to staying in SWANDIPITY again.

6/23/2007
Your house was lovely and had everything we needed for a fun summer retreat!  It is beautifully decorated and the small details made the perfect touch.  (We loved the pictures of the house on the DVD's).  Thank you for creating such a fun summer home away from home.

6/23/2007
We were amazed and delighted by your home and surroundings.  This was our 1st visit to the Outer Banks as a family and we so enjoyed ourselves.  What wonderful taste you have.  - Annette, Bryan, Shannon, Luke and Zack

6/9/2007
We had a truly fabulous time on our 2nd trip to Swan Beach.  We visited again with some old friends that love to graze in the grasses of SWANDIPITY.  This year we even met a new friend - a wild pig!  We had a few days of hard winds & it was a bit chilly for the beach so this year we climbed the lighthouse.  
We have really enjoyed your home and all the amenities & attention to detail!  You do an exceptional job of making it feel like home but with even better views!  See you in 08! - Amy, Matt, Ella and Luke

6/9/2007
Soulful...this vacation filled our hearts with pure joy, laughter and love. (Our 1st trip to OBX0.  We depart with our treasured memories and the hopes of returning again.  Thank you for sharing your incredible home!  May God Bless and Keep Us All.  - Bobby, Lisa, Kirtland, Liddia and Pops

6/2/2007
Thank you so very much for providing a home complete with every amenity possible, making for an entertaining and utterly relaxing family vacation!
You truly thought of everything here and we appreciate your attention to detail and comfort.  We hope to return next year... and once again take in these spectacular views from every window of this home. - John, Linda, Richard, Rose, Mark, Carol, Paul and Katie

9/26/2006
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.  You have made your home very comfortable and family friendly.  The views from the great-room are breath-taking.  We saw horses daily and a little bit of all  the different sea creatures Thursday morning while walking the shore and looking for shells.  Don found a whole clam shell and told me to come look what was inside- and while on one knee, he opened it to show me a beautiful diamond ring and asked me to marry him!  Of course I said "yes"!  A special day we will never forget.  - Don, Kimmy, Jamie, Micah, Dana, David, Jordan and Madde

9/23/2006
Thank you so much for sharing your "beautiful home" with us!!  Everything in it was so impressive and furnished so well!!  Your paintings are awesome, and we all felt quite at home with it all.  The ocean views were breath-taking no matter what window you looked out from!!  We noticed people on the beach taking pictures of the house, and even coming up to the house asking all sorts of questions.  It was a thrill telling them "It's ours for the week"!!  We saw this house being built last year and knew then, that we wanted to book-it for this vacation week.  Everuthing worked well and who cares about the "Internet" when there are DVDs galore and CDs of every kind!!  Enjoyed the pool and hot tub - everything was perfect except for the week passing so quickly!!  Again, thanks ever zoo much- hope to be back in '07
- Dave, Jessica, Zach and Asher

9/2006
Some old and one young
We had a lot of fun
A family scene
A clean house with pretty paintings
And all you would ever need!
Cut a little short- a hurricane is coming
All this way and not one hole of golf for Jeff!

8/26/2006
We had a wonderful week!  The weather was magnificent as was your wonderful home.  We enjoyed the beautiful pool and swimming in the Atlantic.  The walks along the shore in the morning watching the dolphins were awesome. - Gary & Lynn

8/26/2006
Thank you again for another great summer vacation.  We have begun to think of your home as "ours".  Dishwasher worked beautifully as did everything else!  Thank you again for the peaceful time.  -Aidan & Jerry...Ireland

8/26/2006
Another great week at your beautiful home!  Dolphins, horses, frogs in the pool...They all became our friends!  We enjoyed the ocean waves with the inner tubes for hours & the beautiful views in all directions.  Thank you for letting us share your home again.  It truly feels like home too! - Jo Jo and Brennan

8/26/2006
Thank you for another wonderful year - this is the greatest vacation home anyone could wish for.  Our dinners were terrific at your wonderful table and the kitchen served us very well - I'll be full for years - This year we kayaked with the dolphins and built sandcastles with my niece and nephew.  We look forward to another year. Thank you, thank you again. -John

7/28/2006
This was truly a memorable vacation!  Our second stay on the 4x4 beaches.  The weather was great, the ocean was fun and the house was absolutely lovely!  We enjoyed the horses, the dolphins, the pool and the swing with the view of the beach was lots of fun for the children.  Wish we could stay another week!  We'll be back for sure next year!  Maybe we'll catch a big fish next year!  - Jeff, Roxanne, Annemarie, Marlena, Madeline & Josephine

7/28/2006
Our traditional family trip to the Outer Banks was even more special this year!  It was the first time we stayed in Corolla and loved your lovely beach house!  We are sold on the 4x4 beach.  We had great weather and enjoyed all that we had looked forward too, even daily visits from the horses!  Your incredible house was the perfect setting for a memorable family vacation.  -Liz, Rich, Dee, Greg, Grant, Garrett, Kerry, Tom and Kristen

7/8/2006
Once again we want to thank you for haring your beautiful home with us.  We were privileged to be your first guests last year which served to heighten our excitement to return this year.  We continue to cherish the relaxation, the fun and the memories families create here at your home.  This has been a wonderful vacation!  Thanks so much. 

6/24/2006
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us.  We had a wonderful time.  The weather was great, the view was stunning and your home was tastefully decorated.  A great place to come and catch your breath and I particularly loved the swing facing the ocean!!  A great time was had by all...definitely worth repeating!!!  - Karl, Teena, Karl & Emily

6/24/2006
What a dream vacation!  The house was beautiful.  Everything inside was perfect right down to the lanterns with the candles for walking on the beach at night.  Our eight year old daughter had the time of her life and I felt like a kid again.  Than you so much for everything, I will remember this great vacation forever...
- Debbie, Bob & Abigail

6/24/2006
Its's sad now that we are packing to leave - we had a great relaxing time in your awesome home.  We appreciate you making it available to families like ours.  Perfect location - away from the crowds and beautiful beach at the front door.  I was able to enjoy 2 books from your collection while relaxing in the swing by the hot tub.  Thank you for sharing!  - Ken, Carolyn, Mary, & Christian

6/17/2006 
What a beautiful week in such a lovely home with all its artwork & surroundings.  The quietress of the beach, the view and the wild horses will certainly make this a trip to remember.  On Wednesday, the rains of Alberta were also quite interesting.  My eleven year old daughter loved your sectional sofa and the flag room that she stayed in.  Thank you!  - Tom, Diane and  Kayla 

6/3/2006
We had a wonderful week in your beautiful home.  Thank you for sharing it with us.  I especially enjoyed your artwork.  Our son is an artist and will be attending SCAD in the fall.  -  Dave and Sue

8/2005
This beautiful place has become our summer tradition, we love it here.  Last year, we stayed at a place that is now your backyard and that is bittersweet.  Your home is inviting, warm & like staying in a catalogue.  Debbie, your art is amazing, the views are spectacular and once  again you brought so much fun and great memories with our group.  Thank you & hope to be sitting here once again.  - Jennifer & Aiden...Ireland

8/2005
Well, this was our second year in Corolla  & we are hooked!  Your house is unbelievable - beautiful, comfortable & better than our imagination.  Debbie & Steve, you have thought of everything to bring friends and family together to create lasting memories & good times.  We look forward to calling your future home our temporary home for a bit of time each year.  Thank you for sharing this incredible piece of earth with us.  - Jo Jo & Brennan

8/2005
Thank you Debbie and Steve for thinking of everything to make our vacation spectacularly relaxing.  We've been very much enjoying the artwork and furnishings and especially the spectacular views.  We are very much looking forward to returning in the next years prior to your retirement to your own little paradise.  Congrats on your wonderful new home.  - John

8/2005
Aunt Debbie and Uncle Steve, your new house is gorgeous.  You did a wonderful job with the design all the way to the finishing touches.  I hope that we all have many more summer vacations here together.  These few days in NC have been the highlight of our summer.  - Cristin & Aaron

7/30/2005
Thank you for a wonderful week at the beach!  Your home is fantastic!  It is beautifully appointed and the location is heavenly.  We love Swan Beach.  This is our second trip down here.  Your home and the beach make the journey worth it!  Thank youu for sharing your home with us.  We had a great time.  - Anne & Bob

7/23/2005
This was our second trip to the 4x4 beaches and we absolutely loved it.  Your home is beautiful and thanks for letting us stay here.  We'll be back next year.  - Lindsey

7/16/2005 
What an extra special treat it has been to not only stay on such a wonderful beach but to have your home to call "our home" for a week.  Your thoughtfulness and attention to fine details have made our trip one of luxury & one we will not soon forget.  Congratulations on such a perfect accomplishment and many thanks for sharing it with us. 

7/9/2005
What a privilege and honor it has been to be the first guests in your lovely new home!  Our first OBX experience was incredible...thanks in a large part to your home and the weather.  We thoroughly enjoyed all the aspects of your home - hot tub, pool, hammocks, decks, DVDs and magnificent views.  We have appreciated your attention to details, the lovely furnishings and your artwork.  It has been a very memorable experience for our family and we plan to return.  Thanks so much. 
David, Marlene, Dan, Kelly, Jeremiah, DaniRae, Benjamin, Jillian and Joel