Sur Kwilu

The Kwilu river runs through the Democratic Republic of the Congo. It was formerly called The Belgian Congo. But this all changed in 1960. There was a drive for independence, and then the Simba rebellion, and the Stanleyville massacre. I was a child at the time, living among missionaries. This is my story.

Currently known as The Democratic Republic of Congo, known as the Congo Free State (1885-1908), Belgian Congo (1908-1960), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (1960-1971), and as the Republic of Zaire (1971-1997)

The Congo was granted its independence on June 30, 1960, adopting the name “Republic of the Congo” (République du Congo), commonly known as Congo-Léopoldville, after the capital city.

============== Site Meter ===