Round 3 May 9th

Louth Under 14 Football League

Round 3 May 9th


Newtown Blues          6  -  13

St Mary’s                    1  -  08


Newtown blues beat ST Marys in this entertaining game played in the Blues field. Despite having several players making their confirmation the next day it didn't stop players like Alan Connor, Jamie Doherty and Ryan Levins committing to every tackle and going for every ball.

Marys started brightly and it took a top drawer save from Dean Martin to steady the Blues. This was the wake up call the blues needed and they scored 4 - 06 without reply before the Marys  registered their first score from Lorcan Malone. Overall it was an even contest with the Blues better at taking their chances that included crucial goals.


Score for Marys, lorcan Malone 0:05,Brendan Matthews 1:02 and Evan keenan 0:01


Newtown Blues; Dean Martin, Adam McGinn, Donal Carr, Alan Connor, Ronan Levins, Jamie Kelly 1 - 02, Jamie Doherty, Ian Connor 1 - 00, Robert Sullivan, Mickey Walsh 0 - 02, Nathan Seery 0 - 03, Reece Garry, Ross Nally 3 - 03, Cian Lynch 1 - 00, Declan  McNamara 0 - 02. Substitutes. Oisin Doherty 0 - 02 for N. Seery, Ryan Levins for Alan Connor, Ciaran Crowe for R. Nally, Craig McLoughlin for R. Garry, Niall O’Connor D. McNamara.


St Marys: Alan McGauley, Cian Taffe, Loran Dixon, Josh Martin, Killian Scott, Brendan Matthews 1 - 02, Shawnie Dowdall, Craig Keenan, Evan Keenan 0 - 01, Philip Traynor, Loran Malone 0  - 05, Conor Gillespie, Jake Gillespie, Lurimas Bermotas, Cian Halpenny.  Substitute Sean Beirne for C. Keenan.





Baile Talun/St Kevins             5 - 12   

Naomh Mairtin                        0 - 04


Baile Talun/St Kevins got a good win, their first in three attempts, under their belt against the Martins in Tallanstown and they showed that they will be a force to be reckoned with in this group. The home team got out of the blocks early and made their intentions known from the start with a well taken goal from Declan Taaffe and good points from Cian Commins and Patrick Clarke. Baile Talun/Kevins dominated most of the exchanges for the first half with good team play, quick passing football and intense tackling at the back. They held a healthy lead of 3-8 to 0 - 01 at the half time whistle and where never going to relinquish that lead in the second half. Nevertheless the Martins made a few switches and came back in to the game with three points early in the second half to put some pressure back on the home team. Baile Talun/Kevins dug deep for the last quarter and further goals by Cian Commins and Declan Taaffe put daylight between the teams at the end. 


Scorers for Baile Talun/St. Kevins were; Cian Commins 2 - 04, Patrick Clarke 0 - 03, Declan Taafe 3 - 00 , Dion Conlon 0 - 01, Evan Dohenny 0 -01, Aaron Khan 0 - 02, Eolainn Aiken 0 - 01. Best for Baile Talun/Kevins apart from those already mentioned were Michael Bothwell, Aaron Roche, Aaron Devlin and Liam Cumiskey.





Div 2

Mellifont Rovers 5 - 09

St Bride’s 2 - 06

In this keenly contested U14 Div 2 league match, Mellifont ran out clear winners after getting a good test from a dogged Brides outfit. Mellifont won the toss and elected to play with the modest breeze. Shane Hickey, who was a constant thorn in the Brides rear-guard, opened the scoring with a well taken point. Nathan Murphy then added a second as the play moved from end to end. Jamie Grimes added another before the Brides opened their account. Aaron McCabe the extended the Mellifont lead before the Brides replied with a neatly taken point. Mellifont dominated the second quarter but failed to take full advantage. However five minutes before half-time,Mellifont eventually breached the Brides defence as McCabe got in for a good goal. He followed up with another point to leave the half-time score: Mellifont 1 - 05 St Brides 0 - 2.

Mellifont started the second half at a blistering pace with a thundering goal by Nathan Murphy within 30 seconds of the restart. This was followed by a brace of points from Mellifont man of the match, Jason McKeown. St Brides then found the Mellifont net twice in quick succession and pointed on the double to keep their hopes very much alive. However, when Nathan Murphy broke through to score another fine goal, it seemed to settle Mellifont nerves. McKeown followed with two points but the Brides responded with two further points of their own. McKeown and McCabe then settled matters with a goal each to complete the scoring.

Jason McKeown scored 1-04, Nathan Murphy 2 - 01, Aaron McCabe 2-02, Jamie Grimes 0 – 01 and Shane Hickey 0-01. Ben Markey, Jamie Grimes, Shane Hickey, Jason McKeown and Aaron McCabe played very well for the winners.

Mellifont Rovers; Craig Corrigan, Andrew Lee, Eoin Sullivan, Jack Grimes, Ben Markey, Jamie Grimes, Jack Dunne, Shane DeCourcey, Brendan Leacy, Jason McKeown, Sean Clarke, Aaron McCabe, Nathan Murphy (Capt)., Shane Hickey, Desmond Jibona, Jack O’Reilly, Phelim McQuillan, Jack Reilly, Patrick Birch, Robert Durnin, Daniel O’Boyle, Dean Conlon.

Wolfe Tones 8 - 10

St Joseph’s 3 - 12

Wolfe Tones and St Brides were both superb in this highly entertaining and skilful game that produced thirty three scores. Wolfe tones got the victory because Cian McCormack was unstoppable on the edge of the square from where he netted five goals. Robert Maher 1 – 01, Ryan McGrath 1 – 01 and Jake Farrell 1 – 00 added to the Tones goals tally. Jordan Duffy 0 – 05 and Scott Byrne 0 – 01 won excellent in the middle of the field and Mark Lugoye, Leigh Kierans and John McQuillan defended very effectively.

St Patrick’s 2 - 02

Cooley Kickhams 1 - 04

St Patrick’s just managed to edge out their peninsula rivals by a single point. Conor Kenny got the Cooley goal and Owen McDaid, Alex Woods, Michael Carron and Daniel Hanlon got a point each. Sean Hayes, Dean McGeehan, Cathal Quinn, Kevin Murphy, Thomas McGuinness, Conor Loughran and Adam Traynor did very well for Cooley.

Cooley Kickham’s; Sean Hayes, Dean Mc Greehan, Cathal Quinn, Kevin Murphy, Owen Mc Daid 0-1, Thomas Mc Guinness, Daniel Hanlon 0-1, Brian Quinn, Alex Woods 0-1, Christopher Mc Guinness, Conor Kenny 1-0, Conor Loughran, Michael Carron 0-1, Aoghan Sheelan, Adam Traynor Sub Jack Hughes, Jake Mc Shane, Martin Joe Mc Carragher