Education Scholarships

We are awarding up to two (2) $1,500 S-N IWLA Education Scholarships in 2015.  If you have questions, please contact Scholarship Chairman David Perdue at

How to Apply

Applications are accepted beginning February 1st  and are due April 1st.   Winner(s) are selected by the Scholarship committee by May 1st for presentation to the SN-IWLA Board at the May Board meeting, and awards are presented at either the June or July regular dinner meetings.

Objective of this scholarship award is to assist in the education of students who are pursuing studies relating to conservation and the environment.  Be sure to follow the Application Submission Checklist shown below.

Get the application form in PDF©  format by clicking on the download arrow for the IWLAScholarshipApplication.pdf file referenced under the Attachments section at the bottom of this page.

Fill in the form using Acrobat Adobe Reader©, do a "save as"and email the file to as an attachment or, less preferably, you can print a blank form, fill it in non-cursively with a pen and mail it via USPS to:Attention: Scholarship Committee Chairman

Suffolk-Nansemond Chapter IWLA
P. O. Box 351
Suffolk, VA 23439

Note: detailed instructions for completing the form are provided on Sheet#1 of the form.

Use the Checklist below to ensure that your application is fully complete!
Past Award Recipients

2014 - Samuel Gittelman (Va. Tech) and Matthew Herrmann (Va Tech).  

Mr. Samuel Gittelman will be attending Virginia Tech, with plans to attain a B.A. in Environmental Resource Conservation from the School of Natural Resources, towards a career in forest resource management/conservation. 

Mr. Matthew Herrmann  will be attending Virginia Tech, planning to major in Agronomy/College of Crop and Soil Sciences. His career goal is to re-turn to Isle of Wight county to work with farmers on improving crop yields while lessening environment impact.

2013 - Joshua Raby (O.D.U) and Ben Stephenson (Tidewater Community College)

2012 - Joshua Raby (O.D.U) and Thomas Westfall (Va. Tech).

2011 - Ben Stephenson (Tidewater Community College)

2010 Leslie VanNiel (Unity College, Maine)

2009 - Kaitlin Xander (Auburn University) and Whitney Chavis (Wesleyan, NC)

2008 - No scholarships were awarded due to requirements not being met by any applicants.

2007 - Joshua Holland (Va. Tech) and Jessica Estienne (College of William & Mary)

2006 - Jason Herrala ( Va. Tech).  2/8/12  Follow-up: Jason Herrala, who graduated from Windsor High School in 2005, completed his studies at Virginia Tech and went on to complete his masters degree in Fisheries and Wildlife Science at Mississipi State.   On December 1, 2011, he started a job as Assistant Director with the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, working in Prestonsburg (Eastern KY) at Dewey Lake.

For information on awards prior to 2006, contact H.J. Miller, SN-IWLA Historian.

Checklist for Application Submission

Only fully completed applications will be accepted, so be sure to reference this checklist when submitting your application: 
    • Form Sheet#2 – Personal Contact Information
    • Form Sheet#3 – Honors and Extracurricular activities, Work History, and Career Plans.
    • Form Sheet#4  – Essay "Why I want this scholarship and what the environment and conservation means to me."
    • Grade transcript (most current)
    • Two (2) references from persons unrelated to the student who can speak of the student's character, leadership, and academic ability. At least one (1) of these references must be from a guidance counselor or teacher.
Note that the Grade transcript and references can be submitted via email as well.

Historical Information

Click here to learn how the Suffolk-Nansemond Chapter IWLA Scholarship fund was established initially.

 National IWLA Scholarship

Note: you may be eligible to apply for the IWLA National Conservation Scholarship as well, however, this National scholarship is not administered by our chapter; for more information see:

Suffolk-Nansemond Iwla,
Jan 31, 2012, 3:35 PM