About BLOY

BLOY (That's Business Leader of the Year, not a condition) is an annual event that has been held since 1977 to highlight and celebrate local business men and women of exceptional merit in Fairbanks. BLOY award recipients are elected by the students of the UAF on the basis of community involvement, innovative spirit, and of course, for being the driving force behind a thriving successful business. From a more utilitarian perspective, this event allows business people, and business students, to connect and network with one another with an eye toward the future - in fact, several members of the ASB, and other business organizations on campus have found gainful employment through just such connections. If you'd like to learn more about BLOY, call Tammy Tragis-McCook of the School of Management at 907-474-7042 or email her at  tammy.tragis@alaska.edu

If you'd like to see past Business Leader of the Year banquets, and learn which exceptional business men and women in Fairbanks have won the award, click the links on the left.

And who's the Business Leader for 2011? Kyong Hollen! Owner of Santina's Flowers and Gifts, as well as K Janitorial. Kyong started with little and transformed it into much. For her hard work, dedication, community involvement, and all around business savvy, the ASB is proud to honor Kyong Hollen as Business Leader of the Year for 2011.