967days since
2011 AAA Meetings

NASA Awards‎ > ‎

The Carrie Hunter-Tate Award

The “Carrie Hunter-Tate Award” honors the memory of this former officer of the National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA). Carrie energetically devoted her time and talents to NASA until her untimely death in 1995. To honor the spirit with which she dedicated herself to the profession of anthropology, NASA has established the “Carrie Hunter-Tate Award,” to be bestowed upon student anthropologists with similar enthusiasm for service to the profession.
The judgment criteria for this award are split equally between academic and professional achievements. Examples of academic achievements include-- but are not limited to--class performance, receipt of academic scholarships and awards, publications and presentations, and, scholarly research. Examples of professional achievement include--but are not limited to--service within professional organizations or departments, leadership positions within student anthropological groups, and community service in which anthropological issues are brought to the public's attention.


All anthropology students and all members of the National Association of Student Anthropologists (excluding currently elected or appointed NASA Officers). Non-members may apply for the Carrie Hunter-Tate, but must join NASA
prior to receiving the award if selected.

Undergraduates, graduates, and all international students are encouraged to apply for these awards. The winners of the Tate Award will each receive a check to be presented at the NASA Business Meeting at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting in November.
Read advice offered by a former Tate Award recipient.

How To Apply:
Applications to this award may occur via three methods: 1) AAA student members may apply individually for the award without a nomination, or; 2) any AAA Member may nominate a student in a separate communication, or; 3) any AAA Section Officer may nominate a student in a separate communication from their section. The potential applicant will then receive from the Tate Award Selection Committee details on the specific application materials required for the application. In all cases, to be considered as an applicant for the Tate Award, one must submit:
  • Name
  • Social Security Number (if US applicant)
  • Address
  • School and school year
  • Research interests
  • Geographical area of interest
  • Transcripts of universities attended (unofficial copies are acceptable)
  • One to three page essay explaining significance of anthropology, where you see the direction of the field, and how you feel qualified for the award
  • CV for graduate student applicants


The Awards Selection Committee must receive all fully completed “Carrie Hunter-Tate Award”. Applications will open in 2012.


For further details or questions about the “Carrie Hunter-Tate Award,” please contact the Carrie Hunter-Tate Award Committee Chair, Kara White at akhety@gmail.com.

Meet previous Carrie Hunter-Tate Award recipients:

Serena Stein (2009)

Bianca Gandolfo (2008)

Kristin Klingaman (2008)

Carolyn S. Barnwell (2007)

Robert O'Brien (2006)

Dawn Stricklin (2006)

Keri Brondo (2004)

Jacob Hickman (2004)

Jessica Cattelino (2003)

Christina Dorsey (2003)

Jennifer Wies (2003)

Erin Andrews (2002)

Rory McCarthy (2002)

Marlene Codwell (2001)

Melisa Cahnmann (2000)

Adam Fish (2000)

Adrienne Isaac (2000)

Mary Ownby (1999)

Donald Wood (1999)