Prandini wins Bowerman Award

Prandini wins Bowerman Award

The Oregon Ducks' Jenna Prandini wins The Bowerman Award as college track's top woman athlete

                                                   Inline image 1

Oregon's Jenna Prandini, who starred in the sprints and the long jump, won The Bowerman Award Thursday as college track & field's top woman athlete.

Prandini scored a combined 49 team points in the NCAA indoor and outdoor championships, winning individual titles indoors in the long jump and outdoors in the 100 meters.

She becomes the second consecutive UO athlete to win the women's award. Oregon mid-distance runner Laura Roesler won in 2014.

Florida jumper Marquis Dendy won the men's award. Dendy swept the NCAA long and triple jumps both indoors and outdoors.

Oregon distance runner Edward Cheserek was one of three finalists. Cheserek also was a finalist in 2014.

Prandini overcame an injury late in the outdoor season, and led the Ducks to the 2015 NCAA outdoor title by winning the 100 meters, placing second in both the 200 and long jump. The UO junior contributed 26 team points to Oregon's winning total of 59.

"Wow, this is so amazing," Prandini said after the women's winner was announced at the awards presentation in San Antonio.

She thanked her coaches, her teammates and her family in her acceptance speech.

"At the NCAAs," Prandini said, "everything I did was for the team."

She went on to win the USA Track & Field outdoor title in the 200. She turned professional over the summer.

The other women's finalists were Stephen A. Austin pole vaulter Demi Payne and Kentucky hurdler Kendra Harrison.

Cheserek won the NCAA indoor title in the mile and anchored Oregon's winning distance medley relay. He swept the NCAA 5,000 and 10,000 titles outdoors.

The other men's finalist was Akron pole vaulter Shawn Barber.

UO male athletes who have won The Bowerman are distance runner Galen Rupp in 2009 and decathlete Ashton Eaton in 2010.

The Bowerman Award winner is selected by a vote of media media members, statisticians, NCAA administrators, past winners, presidents of affiliated organizations, members of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Assocation, and fans.