2018 Pre Meet Highlites


 May 26 2018 This is the final Prefontaine Classic to be held at historic Hayward Field, It is sadly being torn down for a new stadium to host the 2021 Worlds Championships. 

This was yet another great meet.

Seven world-leading marks, three meeting records, one all-comers record, and an U18 meeting record. The stadium has hosted athletics meetings for 97 years

In the Bowerman Mile was won by  Timothy Cheruiyot (3:49.87 WL), Samuel Tefera (3:51.26), and  Elijah Manangoi (3:52.18) Norway's 17 year-old Jacob Ingebrigtsens 3:52.28   toppled Alan Webb's previous high school mile mark of 3:53.43 achieved at this meeting in 2001, the year after Ingebrigtsen was born.

In the women's 1500m Shelby Houlihan beat Jenny Simpson of the United States and Laura Muir of Great Britain with a blazing final 100 meters where she moved from sixth position to first.  Houlihan broke the tape in a world-leading and personal best 3:59.06, her first-ever sub-4:00 run.

Linden Hall set an Australian record of 4:00.86 in sixth place.

 Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia ran a world-leading 14:26.89 in the 5000m, leading three other women, Letesenet Gidey and Gudaf Tsegay of Ethiopia and Hellen Obiri of Kenya, under 15 minutes. 

 Australia's Luke Mathews won the International Mile, essentially the B heat, in 3:57.02, he was the 400th sub-4:00 mile ever recorded at the Prefontaine Classic. 

Ryan Crouser, who grew up in Oregon, broke the meet record in the shot put with 73-11 (22.53m), which held special meaning because it is the last Prefontaine Classic at the traditional Hayward Field, this is where he won state titles for Barlow High School.

In the men’s 200 meters, 20-year-old Noah Lyles ran a eye-popping time of 19.69 (+2.0w) for a new lifetime best and a share of the 2018 world lead.

Jenn Suhr won in the women’s pole vault, clearing a meet record 15-11 (4.85m) and beating Eliza McCartney on fewer misses. McCartney broke the Australian record.

Christian Taylor walked away again with a victory in the triple jump, going 58-2 (17.73m) to beat longtime friend and rival Will Claye he jumped 57-3.50w (17.46m).

Shaunae Miller-Uibo ran 49.52 seconds in the 400 meters and beat 2017 world champion Phyllis Francis, who was second in 50.81.

Caster Semenya ran the fastest 800 meters ever on U.S. soil, clocking 1:55.92 Ajee Wilson was second 1:56.86 and Francine Niyonsaba of Burundi was third in 1:56.88

Mutaz Barshim of Qatar won the men’s high jump with a clearance at 7-8.75 (2.36m) and then tried attempts at 7-11.25 (2.42m).

Ronnie Baker won the men's 100 in 9.78 seconds in a wind-aided (+2.4w). 

Marie-Jose Ta Lou and Murielle Ahoure  went 1-2 in the women’s 100 meters, posting wind-legal (+1.9) times of 10.88 and 10.90, respectively.

Benjamin Kigen / Consesius Kipruto and Evan Jager,went 1-2-3 in the steeple winning time was  8:09.07. Kipruto and Jager, the Olympic gold and silver medalists, finished together. Kipruto was given second place, .002 seconds ahead of Jager, as both ran 8:11.71.

Janieve Russell beat Olympic champion Dalilah Muhammad in the 400-meter hurdles, 54.06 to 54.09.

Omar McLeod won the 110-meter hurdles in 13.01w (+3.0).