ASME Yeram S. Touloukian Award

Approved by the ASME Committee on Honors
Revised 4/23/04

 Form of Award:  Certificate and Medal

Achievement Recognized:  Outstanding technical contributions to the field of thermophysical properties.

Limitations:  An individual who is internationally recognized for major contributions in the thermophysical properties field is eligible to receive this award.  There are no restrictions according to nationality, age, or society membership. 

Nominating Committee:  The Touloukian Award Committee consists of three ASME members appointed by the Committee on Honors upon the recommendation of the Joint ASME-AIChE Committee on Thermophysical Properties of the ASME Heat Transfer Division via the Heat Transfer Division Executive Committee.  Each member serves a term of three years, renewable for up to four consecutive terms.  Membership of the award committee is reviewed at the Joint ASME-AIChE Committee on Thermophysical Properties (which incorporates the ASME K-7 Standing Committee) meeting following each Symposium on Thermophysical Properties.  A chair and vice chair are elected by the K-7 committee.

Current Nominating Committee

  • W. Mickey Haynes (2003 - 2012)
  • Zhuomin Zhang (2006 - 2012)
  • Neil Wright (2009 - 2012)

Review Process:  A call is issued for nominations to be submitted to the Touloukian Award Committee. No more than two nominations are to be submitted by the Touloukian Award Committee to the Committee on Honors. Appropriate documentation for nominees includes a brief biography, a summary of technical contributions, relevant publications and other information. Five individuals acquainted with the nominee’s qualifications and the requirements of the award must write letters supporting the nomination. The Committee on Honors selects the award recipient(s) and recommendations are transmitted to the Board of Governors for approval.

Nomination Deadlines:

  • To the Touloukian Award Nominating Committee (18 months prior to the next Symposium)
  • To the ASME Committee on Honos (8 months prior to he next Symposium)
  • To the ASME Board of Governors (3 months prior to the next Symposium)

Fund:  The Professor Yeram S. Touloukian Memorial Fund


2006:  J.M.H. (Anneke) Levelt-Sengers (fluids)

2003:  Wolfgang Wagner (fluids) and Raymond Taylor (soilds)

2000:  Akira Nagashima (fluids)

1997:  William A. Wakeham (fluids) and Ared Cezairliyan (solids)

1994:  Joseph Kestin (fluids) and Guy K. White (solids)

1991:  Jan V. Sengers (fluids) and Tadshi Makita (solids)

1988:  E.U. Franck (fluids) and Paul G. Clemons (solids)