Home Page

Stafford Historical Society
5 Spring Street, Stafford Springs, CT
Photos From Our Collection

The historical society museum served as the Stafford Public library for over 100 years.   Built in 1885 as an office for Julius Converse, owner of the Mineral Springs Manufacturing Company, the historical society now has two floors of exhibits of Stafford photographs and objects.

The Springs House was the place to stay for visitors to the Mineral Springs.   The building burned in 1959 and Hobbs Medical is now on the site of the old hotel.

Another view of the Springs House with the old Stafford Springs Fire Department building on the left with the steeple.   The SSFD building is now Shamrock laundromat. 

The Furnace Hollow Hotel was in Stafford Hollow at the corner of Patten Road (seen on the left), East Street (going off to the right) and Orcuttville Road (where photographer was standing).  

An aerial view of Staffordville about 1900.  Staffordville Congregational Church is on the right and the lake can be seen in the top of the photo.

For 54 years, the Stafford Historical Society has been dedicated to promoting and preserving the rich history of the town of Stafford, Connecticut.   We are an entirely non-profit, volunteer-run organization.  We are always looking for new members, ideas, and items that connect to Stafford's unique history.