The Herbert Blumer Graduate Student Paper Award

The Herbert Blumer Graduate Student Paper Award is presented annually to the author of the best graduate student paper in the tradition of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for this award, authors must be enrolled in a graduate program. Those who have been awarded a Ph.D. prior to May 2015 are not eligible. Submitted papers cannot have been accepted for publication at the time of this submission, although papers under review may be submitted. The winner of this award may submit the paper for publication in any appropriate journal, including but not limited to Symbolic Interaction

Submit papers directly to the committee chair and members by March 30, 2019.


Chair: Christopher Schneider, Brandon University

Members: Donileen Loseke, University of South Florida

Michael Ian Borer, University of Nevada, Las Vegas


A list of previous winners of the award can be found here.