Charles Horton Cooley Award for Recent Book

The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction announces its call for nominations for the 2017 Charles Horton Cooley Book Award. This award is given annually to an author for a book that represents an important contribution to the perspective of symbolic interaction. To be eligible for the 2017 award, a nominated book should have a publication date between 2014 and 2016. Previously nominated works within this three-year publication period remain eligible but must be re-nominated.

The winner of the 2018 Charles Horton Cooley Book Award is Jooyoung Lee, University of Toronto, for his book "Blowin' Up: Rap Dreams in South Central" (University of Chicago Press, 2016).


Elizabeth Hordge-Freeman (Chair)
The University of South Florida
4202 E Fowler Avenue, CPR 107
Department of Sociology
Tampa, FL  33620


Patrick McGinty
Dept. of Sociology & Anthropology
Western Illinois University
1 University Drive
Macomb, IL 61455

Michael Schwalbe
605 Long Leaf Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27517

A list of winners of the award can be found here