About the National Education Cluster

The National Education Cluster provides leadership on strategic planning, engages with relevant national policy development and supports state-level clusters. Those participating in the National Education Cluster work together to ensure the objectives of the cluster are met and move forward all key functional areas of work. The GoSS Ministry of Education chairs the National Education Cluster, and UNICEF and Save the Children are the lead and co-lead agencies. The Cluster is made up of over 170 individuals, including GoSS staff and representatives from all 10 State Ministries, 29 International NGOs, 5 National NGOs, 6 UN agencies, and 5 Donor organizations.

UNICEF and Save the Children will provide a joint oversight function of the work of the Education Cluster, with regular meetings held between the Heads of both agencies to monitor progress and results. UNICEF, as Cluster Lead Agency, is accountable to the Humanitarian Country Team for the effective functioning of the cluster.

Key Documents for the National Education Cluster
National Education Cluster Terms of Reference (Annexes)
National Education Cluster Strategy 2011
Sudan 2011 Humanitarian Workplan
South Sudan 2011 Annual Review (and PPT Presentation)
2011 Achievements Infographic