Shakespearean series, vol 2
novels inspired by the Bard: number 2, The Tempestuous Voyage of Hopewell Shakespeare

The Tempestuous Voyage of Hopewell Shakespeare, Hodder Children's Books, UK and Australia, 2003. 


It is the year 1600 and 16 year old apprentice Hopewell Shakespeare is spellbound by the Globe Theatre, where the plays of distant kinsman, William, fire his fantasies of love and fortune. Craving adventure, he joins the crew of a notorious buccaneer named Captain Wolfe, hunting for the legendary Lost Island of the Alchemists, where all dreams come true.

But on the journey of his life, Hopewell finds that dreams and nightmares can be very close together...

Inspired by Twelfth Night and The Tempest.


'Reading one of Sophie Masson's books is like standing on top of a lonely mountain at midnight, under a star-filled sky. Her work has that same sense of clarity, magic and mystery.' (Garth Nix, author of Sabriel, Lirael, etc.) 

Shakespearean series

Shakespearean series, vol 3

Shakespearean series, vol 4

Sophie Masson's series